Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
So delicious! The first time I tried it, I hated the taste of tempeh. After researching a bit, I found out that I should boil the tempeh for at least 10 minutes to get rid of the bitter/pungent taste. I boiled the frozen 7 grain tempeh I had for 10 minutes, in water enough to cover, and it worked! I used hickory BBQ sauce for mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairview Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was a hit everyone liked it, even the kids! I did simmer the tempeh in vegetable broth for about 30 min. before marinating it in the barbeque sauce. (I used a recipe from this site called 'A very popular BBQ sauce') I followed the recipe except I added minced garlic to the peppers and onions. After I mixed everything together I let it simmer on the stovetop for 30 min or so. Served it on potato rolls with corn pudding. Thanks for sharing, we will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!! I will make these for friends who give me a hard time for being vegetarian. They will ask for seconds guaranteed. I served this to my family with coleslaw which was the perfect compliment to these sandwiches. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was good. It all depends on your sauce. I would add a lot more peppers and veggies next time. My kids wouldn't eat it but I'll keep trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I only used one pepper based on other reviewers suggestions, and for us that was the perfect amount. I followed the recipe exactly for the rest of it. The flavors blended well and the tempeh really absorbed the flavors of the bbq sauce. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I prepared the tempeh like an other reviewer mentioned. I boiled it for about 20 minutes in vegetable broth and used a mesquite BBQ sauce. The texture takes a little getting used to if you think you are about to bite into a sloppy joe like sandwich. Overall a good recipe to use if it's your first time with tempeh. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This is phenomenal! I followed the suggestions to rinse the tempeh in cold water and to add garlic and hot sauce to the BBQ sauce. This is something I will definitely be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacque_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
What a great way to use Tempeh! I used a Meijer Gold Spicy chipotle Barbeque Sauce and used a purple pepper. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I tried this recipe when my sister and her family were visiting - her oldest daughter is a vegetarian, and her husband is a meat-and-potatoes guy. The only thing I changed was adding a couple of cloves of minced garlic to the vegetables and used 2 green peppers instead of 1 green, 1 red... and EVERYONE, my brother-in-law included, ate this right up and wanted more! What a terrific, easy recipe and it turned out to be such a crowd pleaser! This is one of those good ol' standby recipes for me now, I make it as often as possible. It's pretty handy, too, for a single person because the sandwich filling keeps very well in the refrigerator and reheats very well too. Thanks for a terrific, quick, easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieCarrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Do yourself a favor and make your own red or yellow barbeque sauce. Add an extra cup of water or vegetable broth (I use homemade pastes) and simmer in a slow cooker until the water evaporates. The vinegar does something to break down the firm and sometimes rubbery texture of the tempeh. This comes out much like a shredded/pulled pork barbeque sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States