Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
delicious, my first time making something with tempeh! obviously choice of tempeh and barbecue sauce makes or breaks this recipe. i used trader joe's 3 grain tempeh and loved it. will experiment with different bbq sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I didn't have any peppers, and I've never had tempeh before, but this was delicious! I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
My friend John makes the BEST BBQ sauce I have ever tasted. I was never a big BBQ fan but I love his sauce. I recently went vegan so I was a little sad when I couldn't have any of John's brisket one day, but we brought home a jar of his sauce. I had some tempeh in the fridge but wasn't sure how to prepare it til I saw this recipe. Since I was new to tempeh, I didn't want to waste the sauce in case I didn't like it, so I only made enough for one sandwich. I used just a tiny bit of red and yellow peppers (what I had on hand) and opted not to use onion as I knew the sauce already had a kick to it. I think two entire peppers and an entire onion would be way too much for four sandwiches, unless you're just a big fan of them. I didn't have kaiser rolls so I just used some thin burger buns. I wasn't sure what to expect with the tempeh. It was good, but very crunchy. I heard somewhere to steam your tempeh first for about 10 minutes so I think I'll do that next time. But overall I thought this was really good. I really do think it has a lot to do with what sauce you use. Make sure you have one that you know you love already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very easy - and super delish! I added lots of finely chopped veggies and served on whole wheat deli thins with sweet potato fries and salad! SUPER YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
FANTASTIC! One thing I cannot do is cook but this recipe was a cinch! Delicious and simple to make, I think 1 cup of canned sloppy joe mix would work great in place of the barbecue sauce also. Thanks for sharing this recipe. This is something I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
The whole family loved these and my hubby and 7 year old had seconds. My 4 year old and I were extremely full, so good. We will be making this again. *The secret is defiantly the BBQ Sauce, I bought Bull's-Eye Kansas City Style* (no high fructose corn syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moemoev
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was SO easy, and so delicious!!!! I put coleslaw in my bun. I wanted to eat just one sandwich, but when I finished it, I had to have another. One of the best vegetarian recipes ever! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moemoev

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I could eat this for days!! Seriously amazing. My first endeavor with tempeh and what a great one. Used Stubbs BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very delicious! Great flavor and texture. I didn't have onions so would have been even better if I did but I loved it anyways. I added a little granulated garlic to the mix as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I love tempeh and my homemake bbq sauce, so this recipe was great! Only one other reviewer mentioned cooking the tempeh first- it is a must! Tempeh in an uncooked food and heating it up in bbq sauce is not sufficiently cooking it. It must be simmered first or it is hard to digest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States