Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Great vegetarian alternative to my meat-ful summer BBQ! As recommended in other reviews, I simmered the tempeh in stock for 30 minutes before beginning this recipe. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
My daughter made this as written and did not like it. I took the advice of another reviewer and slow cooked as he instructed and we both loved it. My husband also loved it. Next time I will steam it first as a few bites did have a slight bitter aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are a delicious alternative to bbq sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Very good sandwich, really more like a sloppy joe. All the sauce covers the taste of the tempeh somewhat so it's a good way to introduce this food to non-vegans. As noted, please cook tempeh first. I sauted and crumbled it first, then drained on paper towels while sautéing veggies (along with garlic). Will make again--I have all that barbecue sauce left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
~Added a little garlic and cumin to the peppers/onions. ~Substituted vegetable oil for coconut oil. ~Memphis smokey BBQ sauce. This recipe makes a LOT! But it works out because it's easy to reheat and eat again. It turned out really good, but adding a little extra spice definitely helped. This is a really good BBQ fix for vegetarians!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
not really edible. this may have been due to me not soaking the tempeh at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
One of my all time FAVORITE all vegan meals. So cheap & easy to make! I make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyEverhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
You absolutely *have to boil tempeh before you do anything else to it. Simply boiling the tempeh in water for 5-10 minutes will remove the bitter taste. Boiling the tempeh in veggie broth for up to 30 minutes will remove the bitter taste and add more flavor to the tempeh. I would also recommend marinating tempeh for *at least* an hour, but truly, overnight is better. Two stars because the recipe would be okay if the tempeh is at least boiled beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Texture takes some getting used to if you are haven't tried tempeh, but the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States