Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe deserves 5 stars! It is wonderful as is, but I have tweaked it a bit to suit our tastes. I add kidney beans because they add additional body and texture. I have always liked them in Sloppy Joes, even back when I made them with (ugh) ground beef. I also do not use quite as much bbq sauce as called for. You will find that these are enjoyed by vegetarians and meat-eaters alike. A great meal any time, but especially awesome when you have a houseful of people with an assortment of eating styles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I'm a vegetarian, and I love the flavor of bbq food. This was a pretty good substitute for a bbq pulled pork sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Haven't made this yet, but read some reviews. I think a lot of the people who gave bad reviews didn't know to steam the tempeh for 20 mins. in a steamer or simmer for 20 mins in veg. broth before using in ANY recipe. It removes the bitter taste, after which, the tempeh will rock and so will the recipe! I can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Shoeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very tasty. We ate them like sloppy joes the first time and then as a dip with chips and a dallup of greek yogurt on top. It had great texture with added red kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I followed the "most helpful" review which was the first one stating to boil in broth and then lightly brown in the pan. The tempeh did not taste bad at all.. in fact, it didn't really have much of a taste at all. BBQ sauce was the only thing i could taste. Don't get wrong, i love BBQ sauce and pretty much any condiment known to man, but this was a little over the top. MIGHT make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Great vegetarian alternative to my meat-ful summer BBQ! As recommended in other reviews, I simmered the tempeh in stock for 30 minutes before beginning this recipe. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
My daughter made this as written and did not like it. I took the advice of another reviewer and slow cooked as he instructed and we both loved it. My husband also loved it. Next time I will steam it first as a few bites did have a slight bitter aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Very good. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These are a delicious alternative to bbq sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Very good sandwich, really more like a sloppy joe. All the sauce covers the taste of the tempeh somewhat so it's a good way to introduce this food to non-vegans. As noted, please cook tempeh first. I sauted and crumbled it first, then drained on paper towels while sautéing veggies (along with garlic). Will make again--I have all that barbecue sauce left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States