Barbeque Tempeh Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was my first time eating tempeh. I'm still confused about if you're supposed to cook the tempeh beforehand or not. I opted for a bbq sauce without high fructose corn syrup. First bite...my thoughts were "bitter!!" I added agave nectar to cut the bitter flavor which worked very well. It took a few bites to adjust but by the end of the sandwich the bitter flavor actually started to grow on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Carver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I love this recipe; it's absolutely perfect. Another review recommended simmering the tempeh brick in vegetable broth before crumbling it, which is a great idea. In the past, I have marinated the tempeh in pareve (vegetarian) chicken broth before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Dreyfuss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Mme and tempeh are just never going to be friends. This tasted weird, I guess the combo with the green pepper and BBQ sauce and weird texture/savory like flavor of the tempeh just turned me off. My family was kind enough to eat the one sandwich I gave them but there was also no other food prepared so I guess they HAD to eat it but refused seconds. (Unusual for sure) I'm sure it worked for others but if you know you already don't like tempeh I don't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Feeda DaFamilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AmyllyLace
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Looking for a new recipe that is ready in minutes? This simple vegetarian meal uses common grocery store ingredients. Don't be intimidated by the tempeh if it's your first time cooking/eating it. It is a great meat substitute that is equally dense & satisfying. I would be really picky with my choice of BBQ sauce because it is definitely the deal breaker. The one I used was too sweet for my taste. If I had known how much sugar was in the Annie's variety, I would've picked something else. It was still a good tasting burger that got me full fast. But it lacked all the classic ingredients of a real American burger like the lettuce, mayo, tomato & cheese, which is why I think this burger is more like a sloppy joe. I used Trader Joe's organic grain tempeh & Annie's organic BBQ sauce (sweet & spicy) on gluten free white bread. I would definitely make this again, but with a different BBQ sauce and additional toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyllyLace

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Easy recipe, not much pizzaz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious! The only thing I did differently: I added some of my homemade jerk seasoning rub to the tempeh and barbecue sauce and let it marinate for over an hour. I also drained the veggies after sauteeing, before spooning it into the marinated Tempeh. My first time eating and cooking with Tempeh and have to say it was a wonderful experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awakenedone

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I may make this again. For a tempeh recipe it's very easy and simple, which is nice. I'd use a little less bbq sauce. My kids didn't like it, but I figured they wouldn't with the peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
No reason not to like this one. A good introduction to tempeh and one the whole family can enjoy especially those who may not be on board with being vegan/vegetarian. I steamed for 20 minutes the organic tempeh, added 4 chopped baby bella mushrooms I had on hand and used Sweet Baby Rays Original barbeque sauce. I used Earth Balance spread on kaiser roll and toasted on top of stove. Will definitely make this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I really liked this even without boiling the tempeh first. I added garlic like others have said. I'm not much of a cook so love how easy it was. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Last night was the first time I had tempeh and it was amazing in this recipe. My husband is a vegan and I am not but I am willing to try different things. I'm not sure it could have tasted better! Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne Kerr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States