Barbeque Style Braised Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I modified the recipe by adding a dry rub. I put 2 tablespoons of peppercorns and 3 tablespoons of my dried used morning coffee grinds in a spice grinder for a few seconds. I applied a liberal amount of rub to the ribs before browning them in the dutch oven. I followed the recipe in every other way. The ribs were amazing, and the leftover sauce over crusty bread is phenominal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcondon25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Really good but fairly basic. I added fresh thyme and fresh rosemary to add a bit of depth. Easy to make and definitely worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
A flavorful recipe that is easy to prepare. My husband loved it. I followed the recipe with just one exception. I tasted the mixed sauce before putting it in the oven. It seemed a bit vinegary so I added 3 Tbs. of brown sugar. It may have been the particular barbecue sauce I used influenced the taste. This recipe is a keeper. I served it with mashed potatoes on the side. I will make this dish again. Thanks, Valerie, for providing the recipe to this delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Great, way better the next day. Did it in the slow cooker. Put it in the fridge overnight after cooking to make it easy to remove the fat.I cut the recipe in half, which feeds two people twice. At least two people with normal appetites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this was sooooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Wally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Ribs were a big hit in my family.....can I get instructions on how to use this recipe in a slow cooker or pressure cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
The ribs came out great! The meat was just falling off the bone. Will make a again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I don't personally like short ribs, but I made these for my husband and kids. They ate them up and said they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heff76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gregory, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have made this recipe multiple times and it is always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Good main dish for a cold winter night. I made it with only 3 lbs of short ribs, as there are only two of us. I think I will used less beef broth next time, though, so the sauce is a little thicker. I will also take the cover off for the last hour or so of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States