Barbeque Style Braised Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this was sooooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Wally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Ribs were a big hit in my family.....can I get instructions on how to use this recipe in a slow cooker or pressure cooker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
The ribs came out great! The meat was just falling off the bone. Will make a again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I don't personally like short ribs, but I made these for my husband and kids. They ate them up and said they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heff76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gregory, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have made this recipe multiple times and it is always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Good main dish for a cold winter night. I made it with only 3 lbs of short ribs, as there are only two of us. I think I will used less beef broth next time, though, so the sauce is a little thicker. I will also take the cover off for the last hour or so of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I love this recipe. It was great alongside mashed sweet potatoes and salad. I took it out at 2.5 hours but the meat was still a bit tough so I threw it back in the oven for an additional 2 hours and it became so tender. It was even great the next day (heated on the stovetop for about 10 minutes). Next time, I'll lower the temperature to 275 and cook it for 4.5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I did not have carrots so just went without them. Used Sweet baby Ray's BBQ sauce. Turned out fantastic! Ribs were very tender, came apart with a fork. Will make any for sure, will probably mess around and add a bit of hot sauce and other stuff just to kick it up a bit Whole family loved it except for the youngest, he was adamant that they were not ribs as they did not have the right bones, I used braising ribs as that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This recipe was absolutely fantastic!! I cooked slow-cooked the ribs at 275, per other reviews, in a dutch oven. I also followed the advice of other users and floured the ribs before browning them. As a result, I had to rinse out my dutch oven before adding the vegetables to prevent the browned bits from smoking. I also reduced the amount of barbecue sauce to 1/4 cup and am so glad I did because, even with the reduced amount, the barbecue flavor was distinct. I think the sauce could be left out entirely and the flavor would still be excellent. Next time I would add some celery, although doing so might make the dish too large for my dutch oven, in which case I will switch to my slow-cooker and cook on low for about 6 hours. I served this over brown rice pasta and it was amazing!! I noticed that some people found the dish too fatty. Short ribs are, by nature, fatty; however, if you cook the dish the night before and place it in the refrigerator, you can easily remove all of the fat from the sauce and the flavor is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I drop out the barbeque sauce and put in 1/4-1/2 cup mustard. After cooking like the recipe says, I coat the ribs with barbeque sauce and toss them under the broiler for about 10-15 minutes, turning every 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States