Barbeque Style Braised Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These are the ultimate comfort food. I love braised short ribs and this one is a definite keeper. I made 3 changes. I could not find any bone in short ribs at the store so I bought some nice lean boneless beef short ribs. I also reduced the barbecue sauce to 3/4 cup.....just because my hubby is a healthy type II diabetic and we cut sugar where we can. I also braised these in the oven at a lower temp 275 for 5 hours. I like a long and slow braise on short ribs. I served these over fluffy mashed potatoes with a salad on the side and a nice pinot noir. These were absolutely melt in your mouth delicious. For those inclined to throw these in a slow cooker.....do NOT skip the browning steps. They are key to a richer flavored sauce and rib. Thanks Valerie. These are on my A+ list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
What a great recipe! I did reduce the amount of BBQ sauce just because I did not have enough - I didn't measure just put in what I had. I had to leave the house - so after browning the ribs and getting them ready to go I braised them in the oven at 200 degrees for about 5 - 6 hours. They were very tender and flavorful. I served these with mashed potatoes and butternut squash. A perfect meal. Thanks Valerie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very, very good. Followed recipe. Next time will add some chopped celery is all. Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 52GLASSACT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlowton, Montana, USA
Living In: Sumner, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Not bad but not good enough to make again. It was a little too sweet for me with just a one note flavor: barbecue sauce. The meat was tender and delicious but the sauce was not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was fabulous! It was just my husband and me so I used four ribs totaling about 2 lbs. Cut the sauce ingredients in half. Served with mashed potatoes a salad. This gravy over the mashed potatoes was unbelievably good and the meat tasted wonderful and cut with a fork. We both wished that I had cooked six ribs and we would have eaten more! Thanks for a recipe that I will return to often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
My husband loved these short ribs. He is such a pain to cook for, hates anything new! But he just ate these up and asks for me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annajustmay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
love love love! it was so easy to make... i followed recipe exactly except i used the slow cooker instead of oven. once i browned everything i was able to go about my day until dinner time. everyone loved it even my picky husband who doesnt like short ribs. the sauce came out so perfect and was delicious with mashed potatoes. this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Beef short ribs are hard to find and expensive! I only could afford 2 lbs, and it fed 4 people with mashed potatoes, a soup and a salad. Everyone enjoyed the braised ribs. I gave it a 4 out of 5 because I feel like it lacked some flavor. Cooked it for 5 hours at 275, because real braising takes a long long time. :) BF loved it, will make it for him again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States