Barbeque Seitan and Black Bean Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This is a fabulous recipe! I tweaked it just a bit, though. I used jalapenos instead of habaneros, shredded tempeh instead of seitan, and omitted the cilantro & green onions (didn't have them on hand). I added some shredded low-fat cheese, and used a mesquite barbeque sauce, which added a nice flavor. Next time I may add some corn. For spreading in the pan and coating the burritos, I cut the bbq sauce with a bit of water, to make it less gloppy and more of a sauce (I used a very thick bbq sauce). I baked it covered with foil, then removed the foil for the last 5-10 minutes. That kept the burritos nice and moist. The recipe makes a lot; freeze the leftovers individually for quick, microwaveable lunches. This recipe is definitely a keeper and will go into my regular meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Excellent recipe. The flavor and texture of the food was pleasing to the senses. This was the first time I used habanero peppers, so I put in two large ones - boy was it hot! I think next time I'll use 1/2 a pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This recipe was so easy to make and follow, yet it tasted like I spent all day making it. My husband was in heaven. He just recently became vegetarian and he didn't think that he could do it, but after eating that he was ready to try anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Lovely and very tasty and well worth the time to slap together. You really DO need to coat the assembled burritos very well before baking or they will carmelize and burn. I fed this to "the guys" for lunch and they never knew it had seitan in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
An exceptional recipe. Granted, a bit labor-intensive, unless you have a food processor (I don't), but I found it to be tastier than expected and easy to put together. A did make a few substitutions in the recipe, though. First, I substituted 3 jalepenos for the habanero (my area grocery stores don't even carry serranos) and tofu for seitan (again, my store didn't have it). Second, I used a spicy BBQ sauce -- same amount, just a bit more kick to it. The end result was quite spicy, which is the way I like it, so be careful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This was a great dish! Chopping veges is the most time consuming part of this dish. But don't let this stop you from making it! I didn't have enough barbeque sauce, so ended up toppin w/grated cheese in an effort to keep the burritos from getting too crispy. They turned out great! Even the kids like them, but one child was turned off by all the onion/bell peppers, the other the seitan. Otherwise, they thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
Real tastey and simple to put together, but watch out for how much chile's you use if children are going to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This is the best new recipe I have made in a long time. This makes a very large quantity. I left out the bell peppers and cilantro since we don't care for those. I also substituted a small can of diced jalapenos for the habanero. Delicious!! The additional baking time at the end can be shortened if you are starving like we were - prep time was an hour for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Fantastic recipe. My grocery store did not have seitan, so I used tempeh instead. It was the perfect texture for the burritos. I used 3 habaneros because I like things spicy, and used a sweet BBQ sauce to counterbalance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This recipes sounds really good but I haven't tried it. What is seitan?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States