Barbeque Seitan and Black Bean Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This was a great dish! Chopping veges is the most time consuming part of this dish. But don't let this stop you from making it! I didn't have enough barbeque sauce, so ended up toppin w/grated cheese in an effort to keep the burritos from getting too crispy. They turned out great! Even the kids like them, but one child was turned off by all the onion/bell peppers, the other the seitan. Otherwise, they thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
this was amazing. i will make this again, as the burritos turned out to be so tasty and filling. they freeze well and make great lunches! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
Real tastey and simple to put together, but watch out for how much chile's you use if children are going to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
An exceptional recipe. Granted, a bit labor-intensive, unless you have a food processor (I don't), but I found it to be tastier than expected and easy to put together. A did make a few substitutions in the recipe, though. First, I substituted 3 jalepenos for the habanero (my area grocery stores don't even carry serranos) and tofu for seitan (again, my store didn't have it). Second, I used a spicy BBQ sauce -- same amount, just a bit more kick to it. The end result was quite spicy, which is the way I like it, so be careful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
What great taste! I added black olives and extra cilantro. I also added a little cajun seasoning to the rice while it cooked. I surprised my roommate with the recipe, and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
For yummystuff99. Seitan is a meat substitute made from wheat gluten. It has a chewy texture and can be seasoned to taste like just about anything. You can find it at your store usually in the same section you would find veg deli slices and possibly near the water-packed tofu. I highly recommend you give it a try. You can also make it yourself out of vital wheat gluten. There are lots of great recipes out there. My favorite comes from the Post Punk Kitchen website. These burritos were awsome, by the way. My bbq addict fiance refused to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This is a fabulous recipe! I tweaked it just a bit, though. I used jalapenos instead of habaneros, shredded tempeh instead of seitan, and omitted the cilantro & green onions (didn't have them on hand). I added some shredded low-fat cheese, and used a mesquite barbeque sauce, which added a nice flavor. Next time I may add some corn. For spreading in the pan and coating the burritos, I cut the bbq sauce with a bit of water, to make it less gloppy and more of a sauce (I used a very thick bbq sauce). I baked it covered with foil, then removed the foil for the last 5-10 minutes. That kept the burritos nice and moist. The recipe makes a lot; freeze the leftovers individually for quick, microwaveable lunches. This recipe is definitely a keeper and will go into my regular meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This recipe was so easy to make and follow, yet it tasted like I spent all day making it. My husband was in heaven. He just recently became vegetarian and he didn't think that he could do it, but after eating that he was ready to try anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I hate to rain on the parade, but this one didn't do it for me...WAY too much barbecue sauce. The filling isn't bad by itself, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I really love barbecue sauce and was eager to find a vegetarian recipe that used it but for some reason the texture of the seitan just did not agree with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States