Barbeque Seitan and Black Bean Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2000
Real tastey and simple to put together, but watch out for how much chile's you use if children are going to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This recipe was so easy to make and follow, yet it tasted like I spent all day making it. My husband was in heaven. He just recently became vegetarian and he didn't think that he could do it, but after eating that he was ready to try anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
This was a great dish! Chopping veges is the most time consuming part of this dish. But don't let this stop you from making it! I didn't have enough barbeque sauce, so ended up toppin w/grated cheese in an effort to keep the burritos from getting too crispy. They turned out great! Even the kids like them, but one child was turned off by all the onion/bell peppers, the other the seitan. Otherwise, they thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
What great taste! I added black olives and extra cilantro. I also added a little cajun seasoning to the rice while it cooked. I surprised my roommate with the recipe, and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
this was amazing. i will make this again, as the burritos turned out to be so tasty and filling. they freeze well and make great lunches! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I really love barbecue sauce and was eager to find a vegetarian recipe that used it but for some reason the texture of the seitan just did not agree with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
An exceptional recipe. Granted, a bit labor-intensive, unless you have a food processor (I don't), but I found it to be tastier than expected and easy to put together. A did make a few substitutions in the recipe, though. First, I substituted 3 jalepenos for the habanero (my area grocery stores don't even carry serranos) and tofu for seitan (again, my store didn't have it). Second, I used a spicy BBQ sauce -- same amount, just a bit more kick to it. The end result was quite spicy, which is the way I like it, so be careful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
This is the best new recipe I have made in a long time. This makes a very large quantity. I left out the bell peppers and cilantro since we don't care for those. I also substituted a small can of diced jalapenos for the habanero. Delicious!! The additional baking time at the end can be shortened if you are starving like we were - prep time was an hour for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
Fantastic recipe. My grocery store did not have seitan, so I used tempeh instead. It was the perfect texture for the burritos. I used 3 habaneros because I like things spicy, and used a sweet BBQ sauce to counterbalance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Excellent recipe. The flavor and texture of the food was pleasing to the senses. This was the first time I used habanero peppers, so I put in two large ones - boy was it hot! I think next time I'll use 1/2 a pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States