Barbeque Seitan and Black Bean Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I had never cooked with seitan before. Now I think I'll do it more often! One suggestion though, Use smaller tortillas. There was a little too much tortilla on the 10 in ones for my taste. I substituted 6 jalepenos for the habaneros, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beth
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe was great! I made a few modifcations based on what I had in my kitchen. I didn't make rice, and instead of peppers and some of the onions I used mushrooms, spinach, and sprouts, along with hot pepper flakes. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
yums! I used tempeh instead of seitan and next time will put a little less habanero (maybe 1 or 1 1/2) cause it was spicy. The leftovers were great for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
For yummystuff99. Seitan is a meat substitute made from wheat gluten. It has a chewy texture and can be seasoned to taste like just about anything. You can find it at your store usually in the same section you would find veg deli slices and possibly near the water-packed tofu. I highly recommend you give it a try. You can also make it yourself out of vital wheat gluten. There are lots of great recipes out there. My favorite comes from the Post Punk Kitchen website. These burritos were awsome, by the way. My bbq addict fiance refused to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
My compliments to the chef! It is unusual, but the flavors came together nicely. Made it for a birthday dinner for a non-vegetarian and it was enjoyed by all. I always like to pan-fry the seitan before adding it to a dish to give it a nice crispiness. Also, I used more than a bottle of barbecue sauce. I think it might be nice to use two different kinds- maybe a nice thick one for the filling and a slightly more marinadish one for the top. A thinner bbq sauce I really like is Frontera brand, with a bright yellow label. I topped with cheese before baking, and served with sour cream- yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
I hate to rain on the parade, but this one didn't do it for me...WAY too much barbecue sauce. The filling isn't bad by itself, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
this is very good.. i modified the sauce for the topping.. i used a large can of diced tomatos.. 1/2 went with the stuffing and then i blended the other 1/2 of tomatos with the BBQ sauce (this way i got more milage out of the topping)..this was a very good recipe to freeze..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
This recipes sounds really good but I haven't tried it. What is seitan?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Lovely and very tasty and well worth the time to slap together. You really DO need to coat the assembled burritos very well before baking or they will carmelize and burn. I fed this to "the guys" for lunch and they never knew it had seitan in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This is a fabulous recipe! I tweaked it just a bit, though. I used jalapenos instead of habaneros, shredded tempeh instead of seitan, and omitted the cilantro & green onions (didn't have them on hand). I added some shredded low-fat cheese, and used a mesquite barbeque sauce, which added a nice flavor. Next time I may add some corn. For spreading in the pan and coating the burritos, I cut the bbq sauce with a bit of water, to make it less gloppy and more of a sauce (I used a very thick bbq sauce). I baked it covered with foil, then removed the foil for the last 5-10 minutes. That kept the burritos nice and moist. The recipe makes a lot; freeze the leftovers individually for quick, microwaveable lunches. This recipe is definitely a keeper and will go into my regular meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States