Barbeque Seitan and Black Bean Burritos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
We invited some vegetarian friends over for dinner and found this recipe. We omitted the seitan since we couldn't find it in the store, left out the habanero peppers, but used one jalapeno and added mushrooms. Our favorite bbq sauce is Sweet Baby Ray's, which added just the right flavor and we topped with avocados. Our friends brought over a corn, avocado, cilantro salad that was a perfect side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I made this for my lab holiday party because one of my labmates is vegan and I wanted to make sure he had something to eat. These are so delicious! Even the hardcore meat-eaters complimented them. I personally didn't think they were spicy enough...but I've never worked with habaneros before and it's possible the two i picked weren't ripe? I picked the smallest ones because of the reviews of how spicy these were...I'll pick bigger peppers next time. And as others mentioned, I thinned the barbecue sauce before putting it on the bottom of the pan and on top of the burritos to make more of a glaze. After I removed the cup of sauce for the mixture, I added half a cup of water to the bottle and shook it up. Worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
i made it easier, healthier/ lower calories by doing this: less oil in sauteing, used 2 c brown rice (although the rice can easily be omitted & taste great! I think even better). I used dried cilantro, skipped the baking step all together & added bbq to taste (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Added a little smoked sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, and some cumin. Very tasty and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was okay. But the flavors were weird. The barbecue sauce overpowered it and made the whole thing too vinegary and salty. It would have been bad with any meat, so don't blame the seitan. Great idea, and I'll likely use the same concept with a different sauce. But not this particular combination. I was glad, however, to be given a chance to try seitan and I'll definitely seek it out again to be used in something tasting better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I omitted habaneros and cilantro, substituted quinoa for rice, and added some fat free feta (which is virtually flavorless but packs a protein punch). Also used corn tortillas rather than flour, which is less fattening and brought a nice additional flavor. As another reviewer pointed out, the success of the recipe hinges on the bbq sauce. Mine was homemade and ho-hum, so the end result suffered a bit, but it was still yummy. Sliced avocado on the side was a welcome addition. If I'd seen the suggestion about adding corn sooner, I would have done so. It might also go well with some grated cheese on top. I'll definitely continue playing with the recipe and work this into regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I've never had seitan but my boyfriend is a vegetarian and wanted to make something with it. So I found this recipe. I was a little skeptical but it was really good! We followed the recipe to a T except we used serrano chilies and whole wheat tortillas. His non-vegetarian friend loved them. We topped them with extra cheese, salsa, and avocados. Next time we want to add some corn salsa. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Toro, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was really good with extra firm tofu but can't wait to try it with the Seitan when I find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I made these more like a fajita, but with a dry barbeque spice rub on tempeh that I sliced then braised in a little cumin-infused olive oil and liquid smoke. Didn't use the onion sprouts or barbeque sauce but grilled slices of caso blanco and wrapped in a wheat tortilla with lettuce, tomato and medium salsa. Served with a side of avocado slices spritzed with a fresh lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Flavors come together wonderfully. The key is choosing the BBQ sauce you love since it is the most forward flavor in this recipe. I could have done with less rice, but my boyfriend loved the rice in it. The seiten offered a nice texture, but could easily be omited from this delicious recipe to reduce the cost, but not the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States