Barbeque Pork Two Ways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This sauce is excellent! I used a pork roast and didn't cut it up ahead of time. I just put everything in the crock pot and cooked on low for about 8 hours. The meat turned out so tender, i just shredded right before I served it - super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOTTAHESS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2002
OH MAN IS THIS GOOD! I used a 5lb pork shoulder roast, doubled the recipe, put the FROZEN roast in the crock put and cooked about 11 hours. Shredded it and EVERYONE raved! Even my 12 year VERY VERY VERY picky nephew asked for seconds! I'm can hardly wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This recipe made my house smell just like a BBQ restaurant! I used boneless country style ribs and sliced diagonally, then packed the sugar VERY lightly and used 1 cup BBQ sauce and 1 cup ketchup. (I used the crockpot method). We ate our sandwiches on lightly toasted bolillo rolls with lots of dill pickle slices. These taste like the real deal, and would be a very low maintenance, low stress way to feed a crowd. We'll be using this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
I was very nervous about making this recipe...it just looked odd in the pot. I wish I hadn't listened to some of the other reviewers and cut back on the brown sugar. The finished result was great and was the hit of the party. Next time I will use the alloted amount of brown sugar. Yummy! thanks for the sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
I seasoned my meat (pork loin & boneless ribs) with seasoning salt, garlic powder, pepper, Accent, and a touch of chili powder. In the sauce I added about 1/2 cup of commercial bbq sauce, an extra clove garlic, and about 2 t. liquid smoke. I cooked the night before in crock pot (smell was incredible) and refrigerated so I could skim grease off next day. Meat was very flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Absolutely delish! I've made this 3 times and it comes out perfect every time. I did make one change. Instead of adding 2 cups of ketchup, I add 1 cup of barbeque sauce and 1 cup of ketchup to add some spice. 2 cups of ketchup was a bit too sweet for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
When I made this for a Super Bowl party, we took it piping hot out of the crock pot and put it on buns. It was pretty good, but it didn't seem that special. When my husband went back for a midnight snack and reheated it, he ate it straight out of the bowl and couldn't stop raving about it! (He had three helpings!) The flavors blended together and the sauce thickened up once it had a chance to cool off. Next time I will take it out of the crock pot and let it cool down before serving. Hubby says this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Exquisite recipe. I used the slow cooker version with a 5lb. pork shoulder and made a little mistake by doubling pretty much everything. So for those of you who use a larger piece of meat, it isn't necessary to use that much ketchup/bbq sauce as it came a little too runny. And I did use half ketchup and half bbq sauce...tasted delicious. Wonderful on homemade hamburger rolls (recipe is also listed on All Recipes! :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
THIS WAS AWESOME. I USED A BONE IN PORK ROAST, ADDED A CAN OF BEEF BROTH AND LEFT IT ON LOW IN MY CROCKPOT FOR THE NIGHT. THE NEXT DAY I SHREDDED IT, PUT IT BACK IN THE CROCKPOT AND ADDED THE SAUCE. YUMMY, YUMMY, YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
OMG.....It amazes me that someone uses chicken breast to make a bbq pork recipe, and then isn't pleased with the results. This is a GREAT recipe just the way it is, but it's also very easy to customize. Add a few different spices or fruits to turn it into any ethnic flavor you like. Mexican...cumin and chiles, Italian...basil and fennil, Oriental...soy sauce and ginger, Polenesian...pineapple. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fontanelle, Iowa, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States