Barbeque Pork Two Ways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Used an 8lb boston cut pork shoulder. I doubled the sauce, as many thought doubling their's for their 5lb meat made it watery, I figured I could afford to double but not triple mine. I didn't start early enough (I used slow cooker) to let it completely cool & reheat as some said it helped the taste. But I did take out meat to shred meat & put crock (juices only) outside to cool & seperate the fat a bit. That decreased the sauce quite a bit, so I replaced the meat in the crock & added additional bottled sauce (I originally used 1/2 ketchup-1/2 bottled bbq sauce to help reduce sweetness---definately recommend.) Let it reheat on high until ready to serve. Used during Super Bowl & family LOVED it. Oh, and I also sauted the finely chopped onions in butter prior to adding at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
My first time making bbq pork and this was an amazing recipe! So easy to make. My boyfriend loved it so much that the entire roast was gone the next day. Some small changes I made were : using loin roast instead of shoulder and didn't bother to cut it up, skipped the onions because I am allergic, and used 1cup of ketchup and 1cup of BBQ sauce. I always use more salt and pepper than the recipe calls for because we don't like anything bland. I might use a fattier roast next time though. The loin roast was really delicious and the meat was tender but it didn't fall apart like I had expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very good flavor, but sauce wasn't thick enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I used a 3.5 lb roast but the same measurements for the sauce. There was more than enough liquid. Actually, before I shredded the meat, I removed at least 2 cups of excess liquid. The only other change I made was to use 1 cup ketchup and 1 cup of spicy BBQ sauce as others had suggested, as I wanted to give it a little kick. This tasted good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Made this recipe tonight. I had a 5 lb. pork shoulder (bone in) and therefore doubled all ingredients. I did not cut the pork prior to cooking it and it easily shred once it was done. I flipped the pork twice, however, I don't think it was necessary. My guests all loved the recipe and there was even enough for lots of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Made this last night & it turned out wonderful! Everyone loved it! I used 2 large bone-in pork steaks and just took the bones out before I shredded the meat. A big hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Pretty good, although it too me longer to cook than the recipe stated. It is important to note that the recipe calls for slicing the meat before placing in the crock pot. I did not do this because I've never in my life sliced meat before putting it in the crock pot, but the time definitely needs to be adjusted if you don't do this. Sauce was good but very sweet and sort of reminded me of those store bought plastic tubs of pre-sauced pork bbq. My husband liked this a lot so it will stay in the recipe box, but I thought it was a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
his recipe was kind of a downer for me. I went with another reviewer and used a roast instead of shoulder. I cooked it for the time indicated and it came out bone dry. I ended up throwing most of it away as my family would not eat it. The sauce was excellent however, and I may give this recipe another try with a shorter cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
my family did not like this. I guess our taste is different from most of the raters for this recipe. It was just too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Room For Dessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Absolutely amazing! I took the advice of others and did half ketchup and half BBQ sauce (I used Jack Daniels). It was a hit among my guests and my house smelled AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States