Barbeque Pork Two Ways Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I followed another reviewer's advice and doubled the recipe for a frozen 5 pound roast then cooked it on low in the slow cooker for 10 hours. It was delicious! the meat just fell apart. I will definitely be making this again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
definitely nothing wrong with this recipe, it is very good. i gave it 4 stars just because there are other recipes similar to this one on this website that are better. great recipe though, and extremely easy to make. the only thing about the pork shoulder is its fatty and i dont care for the extra work of trimming it. also, the sauce didnt thicken up so even with straining it, it'll make your sandwich soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This one really wonderful! I used half barbecue sauce and half ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was really good. Everyone went back for seconds. I started my roast by cutting it into steaks and grilling them with alder wood chips for a smoky flavor. I then put the sauce together in the pan and cut the steaks into big chunks and threw it in there. I knew it would take several hours to cook but I wanted to speed up the process a bit. I added a 6 oz can of pineapple juice (the enzymes help break down the meat) and a TBS of molasses along with some smoked and regular paprika. The sauce as written was excellent which is why I gave it five stars. If you want it spicier; add more pepper or cut a jalapeno in half and let it simmer with the meat. The additions I made later were good too and were done to speed up the process (I was hungry) Wonderful sauce as written. Thanks Kimber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Nice. We did rolls and slaw too. Even the 12, 10 an 7 year olds liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Love this recipe! It's a new staple in my kitchen. I took the suggestion of using 1 cup of ketchup and 1 cup of barbeque sauce. Use a smokey BBQ sauce for the best flavour... in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Awesome bbq recipe! I made this for my son's 10th bday party -I cooked 2 - 11 lb pork shoulders several days ahead of time so I wasnt shredding pork the day of the party. I slow cooked the pork in the oven with onion, celery, seasonings, then shredded and placed in fridge. On the day of the party I mixed the brown sugar, dry mustard, salt pepper, ketchup and Worcestershire sauce with the pork in the crockpot. I just multiplied the amount based on the amount of pork I had. Absolutely tasty and perfect, tastes just like a great bbq sauce - so if you have a good sale on ketchup, it's a great alternative to bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
(Hubby review!) My wife just made this. It's delicious. Let it sit overnight and reheat it, that really brings out the flavour. She substituted 1 cup of BBQ sauce for some of the ketchup for a bit more zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Sooooooooooooo good. Can't wait for leftovers. I also did the half ketchup, half bbq sauce because I love bbq sauce and it turned out so yummy. Only drawback is the onions didn't get as cooked as I would have liked them. I will definitely make this again. **EDIT: I forgot to mention that I haven't actually used this sauce on pork shoulder. Most of the time I throw it on rotisserie chicken meat I've pulled from the bone and I did use it once on pork ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestically Challenged Grrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This recipe is excellent. I used a few tablespoons of spicy mustart instead of mustard seed and tossed in a packet of taco seasoning for pulled pork tacos it came out perfect. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States