Barbeque Chicken Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
This recipe was so delicious!! It's a combination of things I wouldn't have put together but it turned out great- people had third helpings when I made it for a picnic. I used whole wheat rotini instead of shell, because I had it on hand and I prefer whole wheat and it was great. I also followed the advice of other commenters and only used 2 peppers and a few stalks of celery and that turned out great. I would caution other readers that this recipe makes A LOT of food!!! I filled two large serving bowls! I could have halved the recipe and been fine, but it's so good I'm not sad to have leftovers. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My only problem with this recipe is that I didn't have a bowl big enough to comfortably fit all of this in (had to leave out the red onion). The flavor was great and this would be perfect to bring to a summer get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This recipe was fantastic! I left out the peppers and jicama since I didn't have any on hand and subbed in celery. It was awesome, and the kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Only deviated by cutting some of the ingredients in half – I only used one can of beans, one cup of frozen corn, one jalapeno (since it was all I had), one red and one orange pepper (again, all I had!), cooked up 4 good sized chicken breasts and I didn’t use jicama. And I also used one box of medium bow tie pasta, as that was all I had. This was surprisingly fantastic! My husband and 4yr old devoured it. We had it warm the first night then cold leftovers for lunch the next few days (it makes a TON!). It tasted great both ways – but I preferred it cold. This is a great summer recipe and would be perfect for potlucks since it makes SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Great pasta salad! Easy to adjust the veggies to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My husband and I both loved this dish! I used what I had onhand - red pepper, frozen corn, and cilantro. I skipped the black beans, jicima, and red onion only because I didn't have the ingredients. I was looking for a light summer dish - and this was perfect! I look forward to making it the next time we have friends over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Great recipe but made a few changes to make it work for us. Replaced mayo with 3/4 cup non-fat Greek yogurt & 1/4 cup light ranch dressing. Added tomatoes & lime juice. Upped cumin to 2t. Subbed snap peas for green pepper just cause its what we had. Also used whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
For me, this recipe was part of a "Pantry Challenge". I basically plugged a few ingredients in that I had on hand and this was one of the first recipes that popped up. I did scale this recipe back by half. I cannot find jicama anywhere in the area I live, so I just omitted it. I also did not add the jalapeno pepper because I was feeding two kids. To make this a little......cheaper, I did skip the step of cooking the chicken in the barbeque sauce only because I didn't want to overuse the little bit that I had in case I needed it for another recipe. I just cooked the chicken with some spices in my slow cooker for most of the day, cooled it and then pieced it out for the salad. Very interesting take on pasta salad, my two kids especially liked it. NO leftovers. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Left out the pasta, mayo, jicama, cumin. Grilled some onion, sweet peppers, a serrano pepper, squash on skewers until tender/crisp, and grilled corn wrapped in the husk and foil, and served veggies with grilled chicken tossed with the corn, (scraped off the ears) black beans, a little BBQ sauce, diced mozzarella, fresh oregano, thyme, cilantro. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Had this last night. Yum! We did change the whole wheat pasta for regular shell pasta. The kids love it also. I thought they all would of turn there noses up on it. Thanks for the recipe nenithel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States