Barbeque Chicken Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My husband and I both loved this dish! I used what I had onhand - red pepper, frozen corn, and cilantro. I skipped the black beans, jicima, and red onion only because I didn't have the ingredients. I was looking for a light summer dish - and this was perfect! I look forward to making it the next time we have friends over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Great pasta salad! Easy to adjust the veggies to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This recipe was fantastic! I left out the peppers and jicama since I didn't have any on hand and subbed in celery. It was awesome, and the kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Only deviated by cutting some of the ingredients in half – I only used one can of beans, one cup of frozen corn, one jalapeno (since it was all I had), one red and one orange pepper (again, all I had!), cooked up 4 good sized chicken breasts and I didn’t use jicama. And I also used one box of medium bow tie pasta, as that was all I had. This was surprisingly fantastic! My husband and 4yr old devoured it. We had it warm the first night then cold leftovers for lunch the next few days (it makes a TON!). It tasted great both ways – but I preferred it cold. This is a great summer recipe and would be perfect for potlucks since it makes SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My only problem with this recipe is that I didn't have a bowl big enough to comfortably fit all of this in (had to leave out the red onion). The flavor was great and this would be perfect to bring to a summer get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nette
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was very good and receives lots of compliments, but gets 4 stars as written. It's a 4.5 star with the following: The chicken step is a lot of work. If your local market sells fresh, cooked chicken, mix it with the cup of BBQ sauce and it saves a lot of time. Unless you really LOVE bell peppers, 4 bell peppers is a lot. So if you just LIKE bell peppers, reduce to 2 or 3 peppers and you'll have PLENTY. I substituted celery for the remaining amount of peppers and it adds a lot. I jullienned my jicama and it wilted by serving time. If serving cold, there are a few things that don't hold that well: Jicama and the cilantro. I'd suggest saving out at least some of the cilantro (since it does add a lot of flavor during the chill) and all of the jicama until closer to serving time.If you add a bit of green onion, it also helps to freshen the look of the salad. Finally, my impression was that it was a little too sweet (might depend on your BBQ sauce), so I added some lime mixed with a bit of water, olive oil, salt and pepper to add a slight citrus dimension -- about 1/3 of a cup of this lime vinagrette. Next time, I'll probably just whisk some lime just into the mayo before adding it into the salad. Makes a ton of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Left out the pasta, mayo, jicama, cumin. Grilled some onion, sweet peppers, a serrano pepper, squash on skewers until tender/crisp, and grilled corn wrapped in the husk and foil, and served veggies with grilled chicken tossed with the corn, (scraped off the ears) black beans, a little BBQ sauce, diced mozzarella, fresh oregano, thyme, cilantro. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is a very versatile salad to fit any family's taste. I've made this a several times and the family loves it with only a couple modifications due to our taste preference: only (1) orange and (1) red bell pepper, no jalapeno peppers and didn't have cilantro... Have to agree with previous reviews to leave out the jicama until ready to serve. I've made it with out any peppers or jicama (just didn't have any) instead added can of green beans & kidney beans... Tip: you bake the chicken breast in a smoky seasoning of personal preference & the BBQ sauce... We have also combined ranch dressing with the BBQ sauce (we use that on several salads!) Yum!!! Thank you for a wonderful and versatile salad nenithel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Had this last night. Yum! We did change the whole wheat pasta for regular shell pasta. The kids love it also. I thought they all would of turn there noses up on it. Thanks for the recipe nenithel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Great recipe but made a few changes to make it work for us. Replaced mayo with 3/4 cup non-fat Greek yogurt & 1/4 cup light ranch dressing. Added tomatoes & lime juice. Upped cumin to 2t. Subbed snap peas for green pepper just cause its what we had. Also used whole wheat pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States