Barbeque Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
With a few changes this is a 5 star recipe and one I will make many times over I’m sure. First off I must say do not wait till after adding your onions, bell pepper, corn and tomatoes to drain off excess grease. One you lose too much of your veggies flavors and natural juices in doing so, for they get drained as well as the grease. Drain your ground beef after cooking it. Adding garlic is a must in my house, so I did. I can see where others say using 3 boxes of cornbread is way to much too. I made a homemade corn bread spread which would have been the equivalents of about 1 ½ box of store bought and it was just right. I also took the advice of others and I increased my barbeque sauce to 1 cup. I also did not pre-drain my tomatoes so it would have more moisture. I’m glad I did not drain them either for it aided in making it moist and gave it more flavor. My husband loved it and is looking forward to leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Basic recipe is good as is, except I think to much cornbread. I doubled the recipr and two boxes of cornbread mix was to much. I mixed up two boxes and used about one and a half. Made the rest into muffins. I also used several tablesppoons of Worcestershire Sauce when browining the meat. To keep from being to dry I did not drain the tomatoes. I added a can (14.5 oz) of kidney beans, drained ands rinsed, two small cans of mushrooms, and a cup of shredded cheddar cheese.I mix the cheese and the barbecue sauce into the hot mixture and it melts through out the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe is really good, but with some modifications. We halved it and put it in a 9x9. The smallest can of corn I could find was 8.5 oz, and I ended up using the whole thing, and used the whole can of diced tomatoes instead of half of it (and I think the results were very good). Ended up adding more bbq sauce like everyone else. Also, one box of cornbread was just enough, butI can't imagine using 3 on the full recipe; I think it would be way too much. Don't be scared of having the cornbread bake on top, only the bottom 1/4" or so will absorb any liquid, and it's a good thing! That part tastes the best! I really liked how quick and easy this recipe was, and great "bang for your buck" in terms of flavor. The bbq and cornbread go together beautifully, not weird at all. would like to try a little cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tstandr
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I was looking for a bbq pork casserole recipe and came upon this on for beef. The subsitution worked nicely! I slow cooked some pork with a homemade bbq sauce recipe. I had a ton of it leftover, so after a copule days, I found this recipe. I re-heated the pork on the stovetop and added the vegetables and bbq sauce (reduced to 1/2 cup since I already cooked the meat in sauce). Then I took the advice of one reviewer and added a can of drained, rinsed pinto beans. For the corn bread topping, I used two 16 oz. packages of Marie Callenders mix (no trans fat, just add water). I had a lot of meat and veggies and so the topping spilled over a bit, but I really like it with a thick bread crust. It tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was so quick & easy. I cut the recipe in half. I used 1lb. ground beef, 1/2 chopped onion, 8oz. can of corn, 14.5oz. can of petite cut diced tomatoes and 1 pkg corn muffin mix in an 8in. square pan. I read the previous reviews and started off with 1/2 c. bbq sauce. I added about another 1/4 c. Baked for 20 minutes. Be careful. Top looked done and even toothpick was clean but some of the cornbread underneath was a little gooey. I would bake it another 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENINCA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinez, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My 2 yr old loved it. Like others i only used 2 boxes of cornbread mix and doubled the bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
both my boyfriend and i liked this. i skipped the bell pepper (since he does not like it) and added some jalapenos and other spicy peppers instead for some more flavor. i also mixed the corn in with the cornbread instead of putting it with the meat. the recipe does call for WAY too much cornbread - i've found that half a recipe of Homesteader Cornbread (on this site) covers the entire thing in a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEG18

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
This recipe is delicious! My husband loves it and it's so easy to make. I did add a little Worcestershire sauce when browning the beef & onions. Also, I used 1 cup BBQ sauce. It is definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
This was excellent! My 19 mo old loved it. I used 1 lb hamburger, 1/2 cup of barbeque sauce, 2 boxes of corn bread and 1 whole can of undrained tomatoes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. I made two changes: 1) I only used one package of corn bread mix. Three boxes seemed just way too much and carby. 2) I added garlic powder to the beef as it was browning. I drained the beef grease BEFORE I added the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States