Barbeque Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great recipe and loved by all. I omitted the bell pepper and added diced jalapeno, black beans, and cheddar cheese. It had excellent favor and has been requested as a regular by my family now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was sooooo good. I took the advice of others and made some modifications. I drained the beef before adding the vegetables and I did not drain the tomatoes. I also added a can of black beans, about 6 dashes of worcestershire sauce, and about 6 dashes of cayenne pepper. I added 1 cup of Bullseye original BBQ sauce. Another thing I did was layer the bottom of the dish with Idahoan Four Cheese Mashed Potatoes before adding the beef and cornbread mixture. I only used two packets of cornbread instead of 3 and it was enough but I think 3 would have been fine too. Next time I think I'll make it without the mashed potatoes. It worked fine but it was just too carby. My boyfriend loved it with the mashed potatoes though so it really is a matter of preference. I definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This reciepe is very good, my girlfriend said next time instead of cornbread to try Grand Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juanita B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Delish and super easy. I quadrupled the recipe for a freezer swap and it was still super easy and got RAVE reviews. I did sub pulled slow-cooked pork for the ground beef, but otherwise kept the recipe the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fountaincooker
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My family watched in horror as my elderly grandfather licked his plate clean - he loved it that much. I made it for Christmas and everyone quickly ate it all. When my mother was cleaning out the dish she told me I had to make it again next week for New Year's - ugh! I listened to other reviewers who said three boxes of cornbread was too much, but I disagree. Everyone's plate had more meat than bread, so next time I'm using all three boxes. The one reviewer who suggested adding black-eyed peas had the best idea. The black-eyed peas were an excellent addition and made the dish pop. This was overall a very tasty casserole, however, we felt it needed some heat. I don't like spicy dishes but this casserole was very sweet to us so next time I'll be adding a dash of cayenne pepper to balance it all out. Excellent, easy meal for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was okay, more like Manwich without the bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
What a nice change for dinner! It was easy and quite tasty. Best of all, my teenagers loved it. I did end up using 2 boxes of Jiffy Cornbread mix and that was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I should have read other reviews before I make this. It was a great idea, but need to modify few things to my taste. 1. way way too much corn bread. I would only used one box next time. 2. need some spices. black peper and jalapeno pepper would probably help. 3. more BBQ sauce. increase to about 1 cup. I am even thinking making mashd potato to lay at the bottom of the pan. I will have to update the outcome after I do this.-Update: I've just made some cheesy mashed potato on the side and eat it with. It provide some saltiness and moisture. To me it worked much better. I will do the mashed potato layer next time I will make for sure:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was a simple , quick,and yummy recipe! Even the kids liked it (all 4!), will have again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kimbrough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I followed the suggestions of others and added some garlic and kept the tomato juices in. I upped the bbq sauce a little bit and cut back on the corn bread mix. But I still felt this was missing something. I think it needed some sort of a bite to it. If I ever make it again I'd probably add some jalapeno peppers to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States