Barbeque Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My husband liked this but not my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Love this dish - hearty and filling and not soupy or runny. Changes that helped: used only 2 7oz. packages of cornbread mix, 1 lb. of ground chuck, added can of kidney beans and a small can of mushrooms. Needed more time in the oven than 25 mins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
This tasted good but the bottom of the corn bread wasn't totally cooked while the top was beginning to brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I've made this twice. Once as written except halved the recipe on both occasions (there are only 3 of us), once with modifications. The first time we enjoyed it, but felt a flavor conflict between the barbque sauce and the tomatoes and bell pepper. Second time, I left out the tomatoes, green pepper, added 1Tbsp of minced garlic, 1Tbsp of Worchestershire sauce, black and white pepper, & a couple dashes of crushed red pepper, while browning the beef, added more barbque sauce, and 1 can of Ranch Style Beans, and 1.5cups of frozen corn instead of canned. I use a Thick and Spicy Kraft barbque or Stubb's mesquite barbque sauce. I only use 1 box of Jiffy yellow cornbread with about 1/2 cup of grated sharp cheddar cheese added before layering it over the beef mixture. Thanks for posting, it's a great base recipe that can be altered for personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAFWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
it was very tasty but a little bready...i will definitely make this again just might have 2 packages of cornbread instead of 3 and add some cheese but my family loves that so just my personal preference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is simple, quick, and tasty. Some nights, that is all I want out of life! lol I've tried different sort of things to spice this up a bit since it's a little plain on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was pretty good but needed a few added things to give it 5 stars. I modified it a little with the suggestions of others: I only used 1/2 an onion (1 whole onion looked like wayyy too much!), a whole 15.25oz can of corn (because we all like corn!), just a little over 1 cup Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce, diced tomatoes w/ onion, garlic NOT drained, and used one Marie Callender's (16oz) package of corn bread. I browned the ground beef first with garlic salt & fresh ground pepper and then drained excess grease. Then I tossed in the onion, bell pepper, corn & diced tomatoes. BUT...next time I think I'll just sautee the onion & bell pepper until tender and then toss in with the ground beef, corn & tomatoes because the way I did it this time, the bell peppers weren't tender enough. Then I stirred in the bbq sauce and filled a 9x13 baking dish and topped with the cornbread mix. Baked for 400degrees for 20 minutes. Now for the critique: The only BBQ sauce I like is Sweet Baby Ray's BUT I think that for this recipe, a less sweet BBQ sauce should be used because in combination with the cornbread (which offers the sweetness to the dish), it becomes TOO sweet. So to counter it a bit, we ended up putting a little sour cream on the filling--great! Also to add a little kick, a little hot sauce (cause we like things spicy). And lastly, threw in some shredded cheddar cheese--because cheese is yummy! Oh and I wouldn't use more cornbread than 16oz because that was plenty!! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jambajgyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
not exactly "bad", but a little weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
i'm not a beef eater so i'm not rating this based on my taste because i didn't eat it. but dh and dd gave this a quadruple thumbs down. hubby says odd flavor, too much cornbread, dry, and just a weird combination. seems like it would be something he would really like so i'm surprised, but it did not go over well at all:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was not a big hit for my family. It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States