Barbeque Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Loved the flavor. Only used 1 lb. ground beef. Upped the bbq sauce to 2/3 c. Kids didn't like the onions so might leave out next time or cut back. Only used 2 boxes of corn muffin mix. Easy to make so we will add it to our list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I made a few changes which really made this great.... 1) I browned the ground beef with the onion and a few cloves of minced garlic. 2) Used a 12 oz. steamer bag of corn 3) Used a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes 4) Used over a cup of BBQ sauce 5) drained the beef/onion/garlic BEFORE adding the corn and BBQ sauce 6) To taste added onion and garlic poweder 6) Add some shredded colby jack cheese 7) The biggest change was that I made an 8x8 pan of cornbread and just served the beef mixture over cut squares of bread. I highly recommend "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" from this site. This alleviates the complaint that half of the cornbread was cooked and half was still gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
The family did NOT like this. Mostly is was the BBQ sauce. I felt it was ok. I've done a similar recipe in the past without BBQ sauce and it was better. A different sauce would likely make a difference, but I'll likely stick with my old method/version instead. 2.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Loved overall taste. Followed directions exactly and it turned out kinda dry. Next time I think I'll up the bbq sauce and use 2 boxes of corn bread mix! Husband and children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kori Z

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good! I followed to the recipe w/ the exception of only using one pound of ground meat which is plenty for my family of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Recipe is a great idea, but would make a few changes, I agree that there should be more sauce, but I just added a little bit of chili to the mixture instead of more BBQ. Also this recipe would be GREAT if you used shredded beef instead of ground beef! But over all a WONDERFUL recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Eh, it was ok, cooked it for nearly an hour and the cornbread still didn't cook all the way through... only used one package of cornbread. Probably wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Next time I'll make it in a deeper dish and use only two boxes of cornbread, as I thought it was just too much bread. But, will try again this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was really good, and quite easy. I added peas, in addition to the corn, and I also jazzed up the cornbread topping with green chiles, 1/4 tsp. ground oregano, 1/4 tsp. cumin, and a pinch of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was very good, I did however alter the recipe a bit to fit my needs. I left out the onion and the bell pepper. I added in a few shots of Worcestershire sauce as recommended by other reviewers. Also, I made the "stew" part of the casserole in a non stick skillet and then served it piping hot over leftover cornbread squares. Was really tasty! Hubby asked for me to make it again, which really surprised me. He had 2 bowls full for supper and then another container packed for lunch the next day. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States