Barbeque Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Great recipe. I add one drained can of kidney beans for texture. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
love how quick and easy this is and you only dirty one dish for chilli and cornbread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Easy, quick and yummy. Like other reviewers, I only used about 1.5 boxes of corn bread mix. Added chipotle seasoning for a little kick. Otherwise, I pretty much followed the recipe. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I read most of the reviews, so I increased the BBQ sauce and I'm glad I did. I also used less cornbread, but it was still too thick. I used a 13x9 pan as suggested and it boiled over in the oven. Luckily I caught it right away and put foil under it. This was a good casserole for my family who doesn't usually like casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Pros: Easy to make and cheap. Cons: Bland. Just o.k. and nothing I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Making this again tonight! First time around, I followed some others' ideas, with the 1 cup of BBQ sauce and not draining the tomatoes. I did add onion and celery (ran out of green pepper), and garlic. Tonight I am also adding some shredded carrots chopped fine just for extra nutrition and color along with the corn. Used one box of the Krusteze cornbread mix. Last time, I added chopped green chilies and cheese to the cornbread mix, and also creamed corn to replace the oil and milk. That was just to see if it would work and this was EXCELLENT. This is really a great recipe to experiment with, and with simple ingredients. Gave this 4 stars due to my changes, but why not be creative while cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was pretty good, perfect for that crazy Monday night family meal. I (kind of) did a half recipe. Here is what I did: browned 1 lb ground meat (elk, actually) in a 10 inch oven-safe skillet, added 1 diced onion, 1 diced bell pepper (cuz I can't stand half a leftover onion or bell pepper hanging around), probably little more than a cup worth of frozen corn, the whole can of diced tomatoes and little more than half a cup or so of bbq sauce, and let that simmer until it started to thicken. I only had one box of corn bread mix on hand so I mixed that up, spread it on top of the mixture in the skillet (skipping the transfer to a 9x9 and another dish to wash) and put it in the oven for 20 minutes. Had I bothered to spread the cornbread batter out more evenly it would have covered the whole casserole just fine. As it was, it was plenty enough. My two-year-old and 9-year old both asked for seconds and my picky four year old ate every bite without too much protest (onions aren't her favorite). I had to put the leftovers away in a hurry to keep from eating too much! Overall, this was simple, fast and delicious. I think I'll make this again, though I might take more liberties with it in the future. Stirring shreds of cheddar into the cornbread batter before baking sounds fun. How about crumbled bacon? Frozen peas? Mmmmm, the possibilities! Well done, themamalion! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I made a couple changes and it was a HUGE hit!! I used 1 lb. ground beef, 1/2 C. ea of bell pepper, celery onion, 1 tsp. chopped garlic, then I added 1 6oz can V8 and 3/4 C bbq sauce, 1/2 can corn, 1/2 can white beans. I used 1 box Jiffy corn bread mix to which I added the remaining 1/2 can of corn and about 3 Tbsp. bacon. My family LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trudi J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Made this recipe with enchilada sauce instead of BBQ...so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Tasty recipe. I did make a few changes - 1.5 pounds of beef, 2 boxes of cornbread mix, 1 cup of BBQ sauce, and 1 can whole tomatoes for the diced tomatoes since that is what I had on had. Overall a keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States