Barbeque Beef Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
A quick easy and inexpensive meal to make. My family thought it was really good. Don't change anything. It's great the way it is. As a tip, use two boxes of Jiffy Corn Bread Mix. Even simpler and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I tried this recipe last week using Hunt's Manwich, ground buffalo meat, and took the advice of other reviewers. I decreased the topping (I used Bisquick) and added garlic and onion powder to the topping. It was very tasty and my husband really liked it. I will defintely make this again. Oh, before I forget, I did not add cheese as I thought it would be too much with the Manwich sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This recipe turned out fantastic for our family. I did make several changes, however, after reading the prior reviews. I skipped the cheese and dumped the beef and onion mix into an 8x8 pan. Initially, I tried the 9x13 dish but the mix didn't quite cover the bottom enough for my personal liking. I added a cup of frozen crinkle coin carrots and a cup of frozen corn to the baking pan and tossed everything in our favorite hickory bbq sauce. Since others seemed to have issues with both the volume and the taste of the batter, I cut the batter portion in half and added 1tsp onion powder, 1tsp garlic powder, and ground a little rosemary over it. I wanted the topping to taste like biscuits rather than pancakes, and I thought this would be more suited to what I was aiming for. We baked for the 35 minutes others suggested, and we were very pleased with the results. I will definitely be making this again, and I really appreciate a recipe using ground beef and Bisquick in such a non-traditional way. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was surprisingly good, for a simple, comfort food-y dish. I made it exactly as written, using 85% lean ground beef and mild cheddar cheese. The recipe didn't say whether to drain the fat from the browned beef-and-onion mixture, but I opted to do so. The "6 servings" were pretty decently-sized portions, and I enjoyed them over 4 or 5 days. I do slightly agree with the reviewers who complained about there being too much topping and not enough of the rest. The topping was quite tasty, though - just perhaps a bit too much. I just might make this again soon - it's easy, economical and quite filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I agree with the other reviewers . . . WAY too much topping. I would make it again but would increase the filling by 1.5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was really good, I used left over bbq sauce that I made for another recipe, and mixed it in with the hamburger, I think the crust needed something though. Next time I will add cheese or maybe some green chilies to the crust to make it better. Thanks for the great recipe! I will be using this recipe again next time I have left over bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I found this to be very bland and had to much biscuit. I will try again with more flavor and a reduction to the biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this the other day and it was horrible, he flavors don't combine very well, and the biscuit topping part tasted like a pancake if you're looking for a good meat pie, look somehwere else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEREEB
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Nothing to it and it tastes like it. You end up with a little bit of beef and a whole lot of dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque Bacon Chicken Bake

See how to make baked (or grilled) BBQ chicken wrapped in bacon.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States