Barbecued Spam Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Quite simply the best Spam sandwich I've ever had! During my tour in 'nam Spam was like acid to soldiers on the front line. When mom sent a can of Spam over for one of the boys, we were on that thing quicker than he could crack the can. And when he did...that block of ham lying there cooking in its own juices like a ceviche in hell. Anyways, just lifting back the top to another glorious chunk of Spam was just spectacular for me. I did cry for three hours thinking about the good old days, but that's neither here nor there. Signing off, General Jaybirds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Cindi - I'm giving this five star because I want to thank you for making "General Jaybird" so happy!!! I can't let Spam go near my lips but this recipe truly made his day!!! General - thanks for fighting in Nam and thanks again Cindi!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
I have to agree with the "Aspiring Chef Rita", it's nice to see such a happy review. Thanks Cindi for submitting a recipe that had such a positive affect on someone and thank you General for your service to this country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
Upon seeing some of the positive reviews, I passed this recipe onto my mom to make for my dad - who loves spam. My mom said the BBQ sauce was a little excessive - possibly 1c would do, and although the taste was a little unusual - overall was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
This was my first time eating spam. I didn't care for it, only 1 person out of 5 did. However, he ate 3 sandwiches, and said they were the best he had ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flyrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made my own barbeque sauce, shredded Spam, added shredded cheddar and mozarella, and then topped the mixture on large dinner rolls (cut in half). I topped each with french fried onion rings (canned) and baked. They were delicious and won a Spam contest I entered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Best Sandwich EVER!! all we added was some nice Walla Walla Sweet Onion slices. Growing up an AF brat we lived for the days my Dad made Spam for us. It was hard for him but we loved it so much now Spam is a happy memory for him and his grandchildren. Thanks to the General and all our vets for making life free because they are THE BRAVE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eknahs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I am NOT a Spam lover, but my DH is. I was trying to think of a way to use some Spam I found in the cabinet and came across this recipe. I made it exactly as directed and he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momcat63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Spamiches are now a new family lunch favorite. The kids & hubby loved em. Slice the Spam and they will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red_Hott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
What's not to love, it's Spam and BBQ sauce! LOL, I added cheese, sliced onion and chopped jalapenos. BTW, the Spam was jalapeno flavored too! We like the meat a bit thicker so I slice the whole can into 3rds. Spam is a fickle beast, you either Detest it or can't get enough, I am Happy, we ( well, 1/2 the family) are in the latter camp. My younger kids don't like Spam so they get whatever else I can scrounge up! Thank You DG!! Keeper:):)Sorry it took SO long to give it a Face!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States