Barbecued Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Restaurant worthy recipe here, folks!! And, for God's sake, DON'T think you put these on the grill or burn the butter brown and blame the recipe. This LA dish IS what it IS. Just make it and have faith! I made this recipe tonight as written, but cut it in half for our smaller serving size. My family LOVED it. Very authentic NOLA style BBQ shrimp. I'll def make it again, but I will change a few things. ...And this is totally nitpicking, bc we loved it. 1. Use half the amount of lemons called for. The lemon used was a tad much for our taste. 2. Add a little more hot sauce. I'm pretty wimpy when it comes to hot sauce and this dish SHOULD make your lips tingle a little when you're done. ...Just a smidge more would have accomplished that. 3. Serve the shrimp and sauce on top of/or just next to crusty, toasted, buttered bread like they do in NOLA. It sops up the sauce! ...And, believe me, you'll want to eat ALL the sauce! This dish is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
delicious, would not change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Cut the recipe down for 1lb frozen bag of shrimp. 1/4 cup Worcestershire, 1 lemon, 3 garlic cloves and everything else just added to flavor as we like it (not very spicy people!). I definitely cut down on the oil and butter too. Peeled the shrimp and allowed to marinate for 1.5 hours and cooked on the stove. Served with fettucini and salad. I really liked the flavor but it was too lemony for my husband. Quick and easy, will do again, (next time with less lemon)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Made this recipe for my husband, my son (22 months and picky eater), and a friend, who all got seconds! They loved it and said that this is a definite do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
this was really great! I added extra hot sauce and cayenne pepper. I scaled it down for 2 pounds of frozen peel on shrimp. I made cocktail sauce from ina garten's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
No, it's not the most health conscious meal ever but most true cajun dishes aren't! Live a little! Eat it! It's good! If you can, get some real french bread to soak up the sauce. My only suggestions for a change are to leave the shrimp unpeeled, make the sauce in your pot, dump it over raw shrimp in your pan, mix it all up, and bake it. No need to cook the shrimp twice. Overcooked shrimp get rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Have cooked this dish for years but without olive oil and Italian seasoning. Either version is absolutely delish! Tastes much like the signature dish of one of NOLA's best restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Traditional Louisiana BBQ Shrimp... YUM!!! To the naysayers out there, "Barbecue Shrimp" in NOLA does NOT use "Barbecue" in the same sense as most recipes namely to indicated grilled or smoked meats (FWIW, I'm not sure why and my websearch skills haven't shed light on the mystery). This dish is much closer to what is served elsewhere as "Shrimp Scampi". Just remember, these are not grilled shrimp and aren't particularly healthy, but as a special occasion dish, oh yeah!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is going to yummy and I think the family will love it !! I may add some chilli powder like one tablespoon to spice it up a bit .......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This is a terrific recipe and even better if one uses large shrimp and leave the shell and heads on-actually gives it more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States