Barbecued Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Great recipe! I converted the serving size to 30 for a pot luck at work and it got rave reviews. Because of the quantity of meat it took 7-9 hours in a Nesco roaster.I omitted the liquid smoke flavoring and substituted an 18oz bottle of Sweet Baby Rays original barbecue sauce instead. I used Open Pit for the remainder of the sauce required. In the last step I poured off the liquid, strained out the onions and added them back to the shredded meat, then I added the barbecue sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I agree this recipe is a five star except for the barbeque sauce. It is so flavorful that it does not need the sauce, try it before saucing it. Next time I will use no water as I used cast iron Dutch oven with a rather tight fitting lid then reduced the liquid to about 1/3. Then added the meat back into the liquid and simmered while the balance of my meal cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikey1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fulton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I tried the recipe just as written except in a slow cooker. I took Sillycel's advice and cooked on low for 8 hours. It was wonderful, my new go to for shredded beef. My family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I was hunting for different ways to prepare roast beef and this one is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Found this to be a great base. In a bowl I used one bottle of beer. Instead of 2 C. H2O I used 1 C beef broth. I didn't have broth on hand so I boiled 1 C of H2O in microwave and put 2 beef boullion cubes in to dissolve. Included 2 bay leaves, 1/2 C cider vinegar, 1/4 C honey, 1/2 C brown sugar and garlic powder, onion powder and hickory liquid smoke. Wisked all together and put foil lined roaster. S & P roast, placed fat side up and sliced 1 lg. onion to put on top of 4lb beef shoulder roast in my lined aluminum foil roaster.After wraping foil up around roast I put another piece of foil across the top of roaster and then put lid on for 5 hours. Let the meat rest and then shred the tender roast and put in aluminum lined aluminum piepans.I made up my mom's BBQ sauce and mixed into meat than put on indirect heat on the grill with hickory chips and smoked it for about an hour. I also added some of the reserved liquid from roast to keep it moist and stirred it on the grill. The best BBQ beef ever and I didn't use brisket. In fact I used a freezer burned roast I had and I hated throwing it away. I shaved off the freezer burn before cooking. Tasted like Jack Stack BBQ in KC. Thanks for the great start on the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This recipe has become a favorite of my family's. They request it almost every week. I toast large kaiser buns and serve with extra bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My family of five loved this (and of my children is very picky eater). Plenty for everyone and very easy to make. I'll make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I make it in the crock pot, 6-8 hours, never fails to turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I made this for our annual family vacation, where we serve approximatly 20 people. I made a double batch and it went over so well there were NO left overs! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandysGlassesRock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
One word AWESOME!!!! I made this for the 4th of July....I actually used this recipe on a pork roast and I made it in a crock pot =) on low for 8 hours......however I did not put any bbq sauce on the meat, I did serve it on the side to allow guest to add to their liking. The pepper was a bit to much for some so you may want to lower the amount you use. For that reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars. I will make it again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States