Barbecued Shredded Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This came out really good for me. I was really pleased (and relieved) since this was my first time cooking a roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I didn't have beer so I substituted some broth instead. I followed suggestions and used less liquids and then drained the liquids and put back in 1 cup. Bunch of BBQ sauce and we were gold. Yum! Next time I'll plan ahead and do it with the beer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Followed the recipe as is (using KC Masterpiece orignal). If you try it, I am sure you will change something to suite your taste. HOWEVER, the cooking technique is awesome; shredded beautifully in 5 hours in the oven. Ingredient-wise, unless you are a HUGE fan, I would drop the liquid smoke and also only use 1 bottle of beer. Two teaspoons is WAY too much. Made it again with 1/2 t. smoke and still just - too much. I would say it actually ruins a good basic recipe. Your BBQ sauce will probably be enough for infusing that smokey flavor. Like others, I drain the liquid and only add back in if I need to adjust the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBUNNUMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This turned out wonderful! I used a venison roast which can sometimes be difficult to shred. I used 2 cans of beer and 1 cup of water in my slow cooker. I had it on low for about 10 hours while at work. When I got home it just broke apart. I drained the liquid out and saved the onions. I mixed the onions back in and BBQ sauce. I poured a bit of the left over juice back in to keep it moist. I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I agree the recipe asks for too much liquid. I definitely like this beef recipe, but my boyfriend LOVES it :) will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was really, really good. Since I was putting it in a slow cooker, I followed some of the other reviews and used less liquid. For about 2 pounds of roast, I used one 12 oz beer, no water, and only one one onion. I also only added about half a bottle of barbecue sauce. It was absolutely delicious. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Cooked in crock pot 10 hrs on low. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I used a chuck roast in the crock pot. After 8 hours it just fell apart! Yummy tender and flavorful. Used 1 beer and beef broth instead of water. Used a smaller crock (4 pound roast) so I did cover the whole thing with broth. Did not add bbq sauce to whole thing so we had variety: used to make burritos, bbq sandwiches, threw some in with spaghetti sauce for a rustic red sauce, served over rice. It's delicious all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this in the crock pot and it was delicious. The only things i changed was that I used beef broth instead of water (I almost always substitute broth for water). It came out perfectly. I did drain some of the liquid off but saved it to store the half of the beef in (froze it) that we did not use for the BBQ. Without the BBQ this is perfect for tacos or anything else you want a good shredded beef for. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natsrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waynesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this for a work party and everybody loved it. I only used 1 can of beer and no water - plenty enough liquid. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

How to Make Roast Beef Tenderloin

Watch how to make delicious roast beef tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States