Barbecued Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
First time cooking beef short ribs. Made it pretty much as written but thought that the sauce was lacking. Ended up adding a good amount of our fave bbq sauce to the mix - a big improvement. Really liked the end result but wished that they were a bit more sticky and/or crispier. Will have tioo experiment a bit next time. Thanks, Margery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Flavorful and tender! My husband asked me to add maple syrup and brown sugar to it for a sweeter sauce, so I did. It was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Falls, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These were delicious!!! I followed the recipe exact. I might be braver next time I make these and add molasis. But very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellefson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Did not like, at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was a hit. I added some spices to the braising liquid, cumin, garlic...I imagine any thing you like will do. I had to braise longer, because some of my ribs were sort of tough. Like others I used onions from the liquid, Plus thinly sliced onions under the ribs in the baking dish. Used our favorite store bought BBQ sauce , covered and baked. Ours took longer to bake but I cooked them lower and slower than recipe. Because store sauce was so thick I added a cup of the braising liquid. This is a great jumping off recipe and easy easy easy to make for large groups or big families. Thanks Margery!!!! I would have never thought of this myself. Will be making this for my sons and grandsons very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe. I added worschester sauce to add to the flavor. You need to add less salt if you add worchester sauce. All in all, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I made these the other night and they were a huge hit! Although I used a bottled BBQ sauce, basic recipe is what I was looking for because I did not know how to cook short ribs. They were fall of the bone tender and the kids loved them! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I doubled the sauce recipe and still was barely enough. These ribs were very tender but we really didn't like the sauce. I image it is taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Okay, I did same thing as another person and took the lazy way out and used my families favorite bbq sauce, but this was AMAZING! So Tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Yum-Tweaked it! It was tender, fell off the bone. I added 2Tbsp worcestershire, 1 Tbsp and a half of honey and sprinkled Mrs. Dash to season the meat (pre-sauce) Half way thru cooking I added close to a Bottle of krafts BBQ Sauce will cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharon b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States