Barbecued Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
I never thought to just add barbeque sauce to meatballs for a quick recipe. I was in a hurry the other night and used frozen pre-made meatballs and Kraft Hickory-Honey bbq sauce. It was a big hit with guests! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This is an old standard. It is super easy and not really much to it. Use a good quality barbecue sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I made half a recipe and added pasta sauce. Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I halved the recipe, made the meatballs a little bigger, and served w/ a baked potato and some veggies as a main dish. YUMMY! It was easy to put together and the variations are endless with all the different varieties of bbq sauce that exist today. The leftovers kept well in the fridge and made for an easy dinner the next night, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This recipe is a hit every time I make it. Everyone always enjoys it!! The recipe is great just the way it is. The only thing I did different was after baking the meatballs in the oven for 25mins I put them in a crock pot and than pour the BBQ sauce in and cook for 2 hrs on slow!! PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I read some of the previous reviews and took some of their advice-- I used the equivalent Italian bread crumbs instead of the fresh bread crumbs and after baking the meatballs I cooked the meatballs and barbecue sauce in a crockpot for a few hours instead of putting them back in the oven. They made great barbecued meatball subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Extremely easy and delicious!! Everyone at my Halloween party thought they were some secret recipe with special sauce. I was almost embarrassed to admit how simple they were!! I used Sweet Baby Ray's barbeque sauce and they turned out great. I doubled the recipe because last year they vanished before all the guests arrived! I think I could have tripled it because they still disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made these for a family potluck last year. This year my aunt requested that I bring my good meatballs. There wasn't anything left to bring home. I changed the recipe a little when I made these a year ago. I didn't have enough barbeque sauce to double the recipe so I had added about half of a small size bottle of Heinz 57 Sauce. I think that is what made the difference. Try it and see what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Very impressed! I made these with the BBQ sauce from the Barbecued Beef recipe from this website (make double the quantity) and the meatballs go very well with the sauce. I added quarter of a teaspoon of chili powder and 1 tablespoon of ground cumin to the meatball recipe and they were great. It only took a tablespoon and a half of milk to hold the beef and bread crumbs mixture together. I served it over tagliatelli pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I made this recipe for my family. Unfortunately, we were disappointed because the meatballs did not taste "special". We felt like something was missing from the meatballs. In fact, my husband said that they tasted like meatloaf in honey barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States