Barbecued Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Parie
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These were so good. I did make a few changes: I used ground turkey (dark meat) instead of the beef, and they were so moist & delicious. I chopped a whole, small onion and what I didn't add to the meat, I sauteed in a little oil and sprinkled them on top of the meatballs. Also, I lightly browned my meatballs in a little olive oil before baking. I really like my changes, especially the sauteed onions on top! Yum, these are like little delicious meatloaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
~This is a just a good, basic recipe (great for when you're in a hurry, or if like me~was looking for a new, quick, kid-friendly idea for dinner..) The meatballs are made the same way I'd make them w/spaghetti (just made them smaller-cocktail sized) I put b-b-cue sauce on top of them while baking them for the 1st part (on error) It was fine though..just let them bake for 35 mins, then transferred them to a crock pot & marinated them in more b-cue sauce for a few hours to get them real flavorful..I used 'Bullseye' sauce (it's what we had in the pantry..& were very tangy & yummy!) I would probably try Jack Daniels sauce next time~just for something different. I made these w/cheddar mashed potatoes & a veggie...Delicious & simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
These were really good. I cut the recipe in half to serve 4. I used 1 lb. ground buffalo instead of beef, to cut down on fat and cholesterol. I used italian seasoned bread crumbs. And lite salt. Jack Daniels Hickory Brown Sugar Barbecue sauce was great with these. My family sure did love this recipe and I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I love this recipe it was really easy to make, I like cooking meals that you don't have to fuss over that much. I followed the recipe exactly and it tasted great, I don't cook without a recipe thanks for sharing this recipe I will definately use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
These were great. They were moist and they had the best flavor. My husband loved them more than the kids did. This will always be kept in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was a very good recipe - didn't last long at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I read some of the previous reviews and took some of their advice-- I used the equivalent Italian bread crumbs instead of the fresh bread crumbs and after baking the meatballs I cooked the meatballs and barbecue sauce in a crockpot for a few hours instead of putting them back in the oven. They made great barbecued meatball subs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
These were rather bland even with extra barbecue sauce on them. The one great thing about them is the meatballs didn't fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made these for a family potluck last year. This year my aunt requested that I bring my good meatballs. There wasn't anything left to bring home. I changed the recipe a little when I made these a year ago. I didn't have enough barbeque sauce to double the recipe so I had added about half of a small size bottle of Heinz 57 Sauce. I think that is what made the difference. Try it and see what you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Just didn't love these. I found them a bit bland and a little on the dry side. Maybe adding a little more liquid to the bbq sauce would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

The Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs

A quick and easy recipe for sweet and tangy meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States