Barbecued Korean Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner. I made it exactly as the recipe says, although i'm not fond of measuring so my amounts are perhaps inexact. I am a very good cook and make a lot of good things and my husband loves almost everything I make. However he said this was hands down the BEST THING I have ever made. I made a lot and he ate almost three pounds of ribs. The one thing I did use as well was Korean hot sauce as the recipe didn't specify and I wanted to be close to authentic. Korean hot sauce has a fairly unique taste and has a bit of a sweet note. I served this with the Korean spicy cucumbers also on this site. The whole meal was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I'm korean myself but only cooked what i could cook. i thought making its marinade was hard, but I followed this recipe and found it pretty easy. however, since im a big fan and proud of korean food, I wanted to say that this "barbecued korean ribs" has its name. it's called "yahng-yum-kal-bi." yahng-yum means marinated, and kal-bi means short ribs. i hope i didn't sound offensive or advertising.. thx :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I made these the first time a couple of weeks ago as specified. Putting them on the bbq for about 15 minutes. Unfortunately, they were so tough we couldn't really eat them. What I did get to taste, I thought was very excellent. I just made them again tonight with the same marinade but this time I cooked them low and slow in the crock pot. They did get very tender then we threw them on the bbq for a few minutes and then brushed them with the marinade. These were good this way but still didn't replicate the taste from the original recipe. Still looking for the right way to cook them with the taste from this recipe but not so tough. The taste is excellent but the cooking method doesn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
used boneless ribs, delish. superb with rice on the side - make extra sauce (boil on stovetop) for the rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
If I could have given this more stars, I would have. This is a wonderful recipe. I followed the directions to a "T" with the exception of beef short ribs, I used Beef Boneless Ribs with out bones. I used a gas grill on 350 degrees and turned them every three minutes four times (make sure that you get the criss-cross lines :-) and they turned out better than I expected. We will be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Excellent. Wouldn't change a thing, my husband was very pleased with this meal. Served it with Italian style vegtables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
I used a different brand of teriyaki so maybe that affected the taste. And while this was good, it is not something I would want to make again. We ended up having to put KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This recipe was fantastic, a little spicy, but SCRUMPTIOUS ! My husband and I get tired of the same ol’ BBQ ribs, sauces all taste the same - this sauce is different and delicious! I will make this over and over again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

How to Make Classic BBQ Ribs

Discover the Kansas City method for grilling fork-tender baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States