Barbecued Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I used a bottom round instead of the chuck roast and I cooked it as directed, overnight in a crockpot. The meat was very tender and came apart easily while I was shredding it with a fork and it was not fatty at all (except for the fat on the bottom, which I removed before cooking). However, when I tasted it, it did seem to be a bit grainy or mealy (not sure how to describe the texture). Maybe it was the type of meat I used. Also, the ketchup mixture was a bit too acidic for me, so after I shredded the beef, I added some more brown sugar to the mixture before returning the beef to the mixture for the last hour of cooking. Hopefully, we won't notice the texture while eating it on the buns. Overall, I like the process of cooking the meat with the mixture over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Recipe was a bit sweet for my taste, but was as easy and good as all of the comments had stated. Came out very tender, juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
To prevent moisture from accumulating in a crock pot, fold four layers of paper towels and place under the lid. The towels will absorb excess moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Really good, my family loved it. I used cubed stew meat after reading that the chuck roast was a bit fatty. It couldn't have been easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
We get our Longhorn from our dear friends and we end up with more roasts left to use up. This was a great recipe for a birthday party - wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great taste, but the sauce was very thin and soaked right through the buns, making a big mess. Would add something to thicken the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Great flavor! Sear the meat and set it in the crock then saute some onions along with the garlic laying on top of the meat. I enjoy adding a squirt or 2 of honey & reducing the brown sugar as well. The best tip I can give is to shred the beef when ready then put it back in and leave the lid off your crock pot for about an hour. The sauce will thicken beautifully & give the shredded meat an opportunity to soak up all that love.: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fromkateskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. It's in the crock pot now, as I write. I'm headed to a party and thought that this would be a great addition to any BBQ menu. I always trim the fat off the roast and cut it in smaller pieces. I've never had any issues with fatty sauce. Also, the mustard I use is a horseradish mustard and, after reading a couple of reviews, I will try to cut down on the ketchup and use honey instead. I will continue to make this recipe as it's a hit with the husband, a a very picky eater. Thank you, Corwynn - Sherricd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Good flavor, but cooked it for 9 hours and it was dry. I'm beginning to think that my crock pot runs too hot because everything comes out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
My husband loved it. I used tenderloin and I didn't have to skim off the fat. He couldn't wait for me to do this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walker449@aol.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 974) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States