Barbecued Beef Liver Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Excellent recipe. I sauted onions first and set aside. Added them back before simmering in the bbq sauce. I also added some liquid smoke, paprika, cumin and used red wine vinegar in the sauce for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshal funk
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I always soak liver in milk for an hour before cooking but I thought I'd try this as is...well, hate to say it but it still needs this step. Just soak it in enough milk to cover it for at least an hour and pat dry before cooking. It makes a huge difference. Also, twenty minutes was too long...it overcooked. I only made a serving to try and so I then made it with these changes and the sauce as directed and it was great! I think a commercial sauce would do almost as well for the ultimate quickie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Boiling Springs, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Good sauce, but still can't stand the smell or texture of liver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Logan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Best way to eat liver it covers all the nasty liver flavor and makes it something everyone will eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lifes_1_journey
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I can see why liver despisers would like this recipe. The barbecue sauce masks the taste of liver to the point that it feels like you are eating some sort of undefined, nutritious beef covered in a sweet barbecue sauce. Me, on the other hand, I love liver and don't want to mask it's taste to such an extent. So although good, this recipe isn't for me (I should mention that my husband liked it). Also, you definitely do not need 20 minutes of simmering. 5 minutes should be plenty. If liver is over cooked it will become chewy and unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My husband likes just plain liver, so he LOVED this recipe! Easy to make, so will make for husband again. I despise liver (my mother would make my brother and I eat it before we could go Trick-or-Treating)! But, it's a healthy, lean source of protein, so I thought that maybe...NOPE. Liver flavor is still there (it's such a distinctive flavor and i hate it so much, that even the slightest liver flavor is unacceptable to me). Sauce is yummy, though. Maybe simmer chicken breasts in it for me? Good recipe--for people who can stand the taste of liver. Five stars--for my husband's pallet and for my ease preparing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I currently have low iron and i remembered my doctor informed me about liver being a great source for iron. I wanted to try it and cook it in a different way. Well it was delicious, great flavor and just so tender!!!! Only thing is i have to be careful of eating too much being that the sodium is high with this entire recipe...Otherwise, I truly thought the flavor and tenderness of the liver was wonderful!!!I ate it with brown long grain rice and steam broccoli... -Cee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
We all agreed the best liver recipe yet...beats liver and onions by quite a bit just because the liver stays so moist; normal pan fried liver tends to dry out and get tough too easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This turned out really good, although we didn't add the brown sugar, so the only sugar in it was what was in the ketchup. We just love liver and onions the old fashioned way though, and this was a little too sweet for us. Tasty though, and a different way to do liver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Delicious. Pork, beef or chicken liver. My preference is to use raw apple cider vinegar for the vinegar and for our family of four I double the sauce recipe and serve atop brown rice. I simmered only five minutes instead of twenty and it was great. I suppose the additional simmering would thicken the sauce but over rice it wasn't necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CC Adair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Beef Tips

See how to make saucy, melt-in-your mouth beef tips.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States