Barbecued Beef Cubes or Hamburger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Not bad.....not fantastic but not bad. the sauce is a little sweet and a little tangy....tried it over both rice and pasta. The rice is MUCH better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Followed recipe exactly. Fantastic, even the kids came back for seconds. But you have to serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Pretty good recipe. I altered some things based on the reviews. Used 3 Tbs brown sugar instead of 2 Tbs white, used tomato sauce instead of ketchup, kosher salt instead of table salt and served over wild and brown rice. I would also mix up the ingredients prior to adding it to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RVAZQUEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I have to admit I was sceptical about this recipe, but decided it was quick. I am so glad I tried it! I made it with extra lean ground beef and doubled the sauce, and served with whole wheat spiral pasta and salad. Everyone loved it and the best part was the time it took to prepare. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Awesome sloppy joe recipe. Will never buy another can or mix again. I added a beef bouillon cube instead of salt, brown sugar instead of white, and threw all the ingrediants in the crockpot. I used cubed beef rather than ground beef. It made an amazing sandwich. Try it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
YUM! Both my son and husband loved this one. I did some substitutions. Instead of white vinegar, I used rice vinegar. Didn't have fresh onion so I sprinkled about of 1 TBS of dry minced onion. Also, per husbands trial tasting, I added 2 TBS brown sugar (he likes it sweet). Also, to thin it a touch, without watering the flavor down, I added about 1/3 cup ruby red grapefruit juice. I served this on egg noodles, will try rice next time. This would make excellent sloppy joes! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOAPSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I have been making this recipe for several years now and my husband cannot get enough of it. It is definately one of his top 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used stew meat for this dish only because I could not get stir fry meat. My family liked this dish but I found it a little too sweet. I will fix again but will find a way to lesson the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
This was the first recipe I made and reviewed when I joined All Recipes in 2003! I made this again recently and as I did before - I made the sauce first and let it sit, while I cooked the meat. I used 1 lb. of beef that was pre-cut for stir-fry and served on crusty rolls (not pasta - this is the key!!). It was even better now!! I love this recipe!!!!! Simple and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Didn't care for it that much. It was too tangy and too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States