Barbecue Tofu Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by EBONY3
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
This was sooo good! I seasoned the tofu with a drop of Worcestershire Sauce on each side and garlic powder, Grill Mates Montreal Chicken Seasoning, and a little salt. I then browned it with extra light flavored olive oil and removed the browned tofu from the pan. After I wiped the pan, I sauteed one half of a sliced onion in about a tsp. of olive oil. Once the onion was translucent, I added ketsup, a small amount of Kraft Honey BBQ sauce, a little garlic powder, and water. I let it simmer a little to reduce a bit before I added a pinch of thyme and returned the browned tofu to the pan. Each piece of tofu was flipped to coat all sides with the sauce and heated through. It was served on toasted burger buns with a dollop of Miracle Whip Light, sliced tomato, and lots of Romaine lettuce. It was a meal that was enjoyed by all. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Pretty good - though a bit heavy on the BBQ sauce. I might decrease the amount a bit next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Tasty, quick, and easy - my favorite kind of recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This was AWESOME! I only made two slices to begin with, and because it was so yummy, I went back and made some more with the remaining tofu block. I used Bullseye Original BBQ Sauce. This had a wonderful texture. I think the thinner you can slice it, the better. My best experience cooking tofu yet! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSAVEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I'm just getting into trying more vegetarian recipes for my daughter and she said this one was a keeper. I only had medium firm tofu but she thought it was good. I made this on the side burner of our BBQ grill while making "real meat" for the rest of the family. EDIT: We just tried to barbecued the tofu slice directly on the grill slathering it with sauce. Daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Great recipe, I added lettuce and a slice of tomato. Make sure you use BBQ sauce you really like. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
used more onion that suggested and sweet baby ray's bbq. fantastic. my husband wanted thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I've made these twice now and my newly-converted vegetarian husband LOVES them! (I love them, too!) I add red and green bell peppers and then put a pineapple slice on each sandwich and Watch out! They get devoured in no time! Keep lots of napkins handy, though - this one's messy to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IEATTOFU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coggeshall, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Make sure you use a bbq sauce that you really like since it's the main flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
OMG! This was soo good! I crumbled the tofu, added onion, and cooked it in a little bit of olive oil. I used Sweet Baby Ray barbeque sauce. This tasted just like a sloppy joe sandwich. I made a single serving just for me but I'm glad I didn't make more because I could have eaten a lot more sandwiches. I made it for myself but next time I'm going to make it for some family and not tell them it's tofu when serving it to them. A great way to eat tofu!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States