Barbecue Tofu Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Yummy....I love tofu and this was great. The only change was I froze the tofu for an hour befor frying and used 2 onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I like this, but it seems a bit difficult for me to make without burning some of the tofu or onions or bottom of the pan. Also, I wish I could figure out a way to get the tofu firmer or crispier, it just seems so squishy. I did use extra firm the last time I made this, but it still was a bit spongy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Wow, these are just awesome!!! I cannot wait to make these again! Next time I make them though, I will put two pieces of tofu on each bun and add more onions. I cooked the tofu with just a little oil and waited til the tofu was nice and crispy - all the edges were crunchy! Soooo yummy!!! What a great and SUPER EASY sandwich to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I like the simplicity of this, however there isn't anything special about putting bbq sauce on tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is the first tofu recipe I've tried and it turned out pretty good. I also put some Mrs. Dash on the "burger" before I put the barbeque sauce on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbjork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This recipe was tasty but seemed to be lacking something. I'll do it again but perhaps differently next time. **EDIT: Remade this last night but cut the tofu into about 1/4 inch cubes, added them to a veggie broth and heated for a few minutes. Then put them into a pan with hot oil. Did the cooking the same, but added a little of the veggie broth to help stretch the bbq sauce. Then served it on bread open faced. My girlfriend didnt like it so much last time but this time she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was my first attempt at cooking tofu and it turned out pretty well. I think I cut the tofu wrong to begin with because I ended up having to fry lots of little pieces. Next time I'll slice it so I have the biggest surface area cut. Overall it was pretty easy. I followed another reviewers suggestion to add worsterschire sauce and garlic salt to the tofu before cooking. I served it on Kaiser rolls with cheddar cheese, tomato, and lettuce. A whole block of tofu ended up making 3-4 sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I'm not a big fan of tofu but this was pretty good. It was really messy. My husband, a recent convert to vegetarianism loved it. That's why I giv it four stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Delicious! I didn't change the recipe at all and will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I give this a five, but with my changes. Those not familiar with tofu will need to know the following: Remove the tofu from the box with water. Drain water and place tofu on a tray or plate lined with two paper towels. Place two more paper towels on top of the tofu. Put another plate on top and finish it with something heavy to lightly weight it all down without making it crumble on the sides. (I use a four cup measuring glass set on top of the final plate for weight) Let the tofu set for 20-30 minutes on countertop. This will drain all of the water out and prep the tofu for cooking. The paper towels will be SOAKED when you take it out. Discard them and cut the tofu into 1/4" stips longwise. Cut those strips in half diagonally to make triangles. Put these on a plate and freeze them for 1 hour. They should be frozen on the edges, but not too stiff to move. Do not thaw before cooking. This will make the tofu chewy and "meaty" rather than the undesirable soft and gooey-centered tofu. Heat 1-2 tbsp of olive in a non-stick pan on medium-high heat. Cook the flash-frozen tofu 3-4 minutes on each flat side, being sure to shake the pan often so as not to allow the tofu to stick. When the tofu is brown and crispy, turn the heat down to low-medium. Pour bbq sauce to taste directly in the pan and shake around until tofu is completely coated. Cook 2 minutes until sauce is crispy set to tofu. Serve on toasted wheat buns topped with light cole slaw. (Cole slaw pre-slic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
773 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteDavisLies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States