Barbecue Tofu Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Admittedly, I have never tried tofu before. I followed others advice about draining and freezing, fried the tofu, and served the finished product on sandwich thins. This was alright by me, and one of my kids really loved it. A vegetarian friend thought it was especially tasty. However, we didn't like it enough for the tofu to make it's way onto our regular menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Awesome! After pressing/draining the tofu for 30 minutes and then cooking it in about 1.5 tablespoons of oil (instead of 3 tablespoons), the tofu cooked beautifully with a wonderful chewy texture. It was great! We'll make these again soon. I think it would be delicious with grilled pineapple. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Yum! I followed it exact. DO follow the other reviewers suggestion of placing a few paper towels around the tofu with something heavy on top for about 30 minutes. The paper towels were drenched and the tofu was not soggy and absorbed the BBQ sauce so it wasn't tofu-ey tasting. It also gave it more of a "meaty" texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a weekly staple for my husband and me. The tofu absorbs the wonderful smoky sweetness of the barbecue sauce and the pepper jack cheese adds just the right touch of heat. Absolutely wonderful. I'm waiting for an opportunity to share these with our meat-eating friends, but until then it'll remain one of our go-to dinners. No substitutions to offer, but do be sure you drain the tofu enough before you start to cook it. The alternative is a sloppy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Awesome! Tried another users suggestions of sandwiching the tofu in between two plates with paper towels for 20-25 minutes and then cut and freeze for 1 hour before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very yummy, and this will definitely depend on the quality of the barbecue sauce you use. Before frying the tofu strips, I sprinkled them with a bit of garlic powder. After adding the barbecue sauce I placed the tofu/onion mixture in the oven for about 30 minutes @ 375 degrees. I like it crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was soo yummy. I don't know why I never thought of cooking tofu with barbecue sauce before. Definitely drain the water out of the tofu before cooking. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateskitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Pretty Good recipe! Every time I have had tofu, it hasn't turned out right. Thanks to the reviews on here, I know why. I wasn't draining my tofu enough. This sandwich was excellent though. I tried frying one piece of tofu, which was good. To save on calories, I decided to bake the others. They turned out just as good. Great recipe for those looking to incorporate tofu into their diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Easy, delicious! We made the bbq sauce from scratch using Big Al's KC recipe (on this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
WOnderful! I cooked the onions & mushrooms seperate and topped the sandwich off with them with a lil mayo, lettuce and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States