Barbecue Tofu Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Not bad. 3.5 out of 5. This was my first attempt with cooking tofu. I did follow the drying suggestions. It held together just fine. I am a meat eater (trying to make healthier choices) but I would try this again and suggest it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
For never having made tofu before, this recipe was a snap to make and the tips in the comments were super helpful. I followed another users directions of putting the tofu between two dinner plates with paper towels on either side for 20 minutes, as well as the directions regarding flash freezing the tofu first. Very pleased with the results, had the same texture as chicken! I think you could omit the bbq sauce as well and just dress your burgers as you would with a regular chicken burger, mayo, lettuce, tomato, whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sneezy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
not bad...just good eats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jbertsch
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These were so much better than I expected and is the closest thing to a barbecue sandwich that I have come by (being vegetarian). I followed the directions exactly except for adding some BBQ rub to the patties before cooking. I topped each sandwich with lettuce, tomatoes, fresh onion and mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbertsch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I changed this so much from the original recipe. Will definitely try the original version. Anyway, I sliced and drained the tofu, then salted it and baked it at 205 degrees C for 25 minutes, flipped, covered with barbecue sauce and topped with a few onions and peppers (previously baked) and baked for anothe ten minutes at 175 degrees C. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I followed the directions given by BetteDavisLies. Being new to tofu, I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
These were AWESOME! I followed the advice of the first reviewer to drain the water out of the tofu first. Then I sprinkled the sliced tofu with seasoning salt and sauteed in oil as in the recipe. Once they were really golden brown, I took them out of the pan to drain the excess oil, put them back in with some Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce and sauteed a while longer until the sauce really stuck well to the tofu. I removed the tofu from the pan and added some butter to sauted slice onion in. We put mayo on the buns and topped with tofu and onion and they were amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Super good. The changes I made were to freeze the tofu for an hour and a half and to cut the slices of tofu into triangles(see bettydavislies' review). I also added two fresh Jalapeños(I'm sure Serrano peppers would work too) and a little less BBQ sauce(Close to a cup). Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Soggy tofu, despite the fast freeze and draining water btw paper towels. Great Idea but maybe not for tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was actually better than I thought it was going to be. I did follow the suggestion to freeze the tofu before frying it and it did change the texture considerably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States