Barbecue Tofu Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
I don't know what I did wrong. This recipe has gotten so many good reviews I thought it would be a winner. As things started coming together I had second thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
These sandwiches are great! I didn't drain my tofu well enough, so it all crumbled. But that is okay because my husband doesn't like big chunks of it in his food. He normally makes faces at my tofu dishes, but he ate these without suspecting it was even in there! He loved it,and was very surprised. I think the key is making sure to cook to tofu until it is very browned and firm. I think adding veggie baked beans might be nice also. Will make this often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Im constantly looking for good tofu recipes and this one was SO GREAT! I agree with the comments above to drain the tofu well. I made some modifications such as butter instead of oil for more flavour, red onions,honey-garlic sauce instead of BBQ, and a toasted bagel. It turned out awesome! Next time im going to try it with some cheese on top as well! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
This was a great recipe because I used a homemade bbq sauce (Nana's Barbeque sauce, on All recipes.com). I "breaded" pressed firm tofu with olive oil and whole wheat flour. It was not crispy but did "brown" to an extent. If using a good sauce, it won't matter that the tofu isn't crispy. It will turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Delicious and very easy! If you love barbecue, then you'll love barbecue tofu. This is even better if you use your own homemade barbecue sauce, but bottled is great if quickness is desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
We have made this repeatedly & its very good! One thing I've found helps alot with regard to texture - we cut the tofu into small squares and bake them first! Baking them will keep them from crumbling without having to add fat by frying. If you don't want to cut it into pieces, you can just slice it and bake (we just prefer the smaller pieces).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
WOW! An absolutely amazing meal! This was my first time cooking tofu and it came out beautifully...thanks to the advice given by the other comments. A few things to reemphasize: 1. Do follow the previous suggestion of letting the tofu drain VERY well 2. Make sure you don’t cut the tofu too thin or you might have a hard time keeping it from crumbling 3. If you use too much oil the tofu might end up tasting a little like the oil 4. If you're in a hurry, this probably isn't the meal (unless you already drained the tofu). It also took me a little longer than expected to get the tofu a yummy golden color. I cooked mine with a little too much oil, I’m afraid. After the tofu was golden I drained the oil and sautéed it with lots o’ onions for about 10 minutes, this and the fact that the BBQ sauce I used was delicious (Kraft’s Honey BBQ sauce), really helped cover some of the oil taste. It turned out great (the tofu and the onions) and there is no doubt that it will be made again...soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This is a great recipe. Just a couple of comments. I think that breading the tofu is a good idea. Also, you really have to let the tofu cook for a while o get it really firm, otherwise the texture will be mushy. This could become a summer staple at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
This was incredibly delicious and broke fresh ground in my cooking repertoire.It is so easy,and left a lot of room for seasoning to your own tastes.This time I coated tofu in flour before browning in a frypan in order to make its surface more crispy,and that made it!Grilled mushrooms also go with it. The key for this dish is to drain tofu well.Before frying,I usually wrap it with paper towels,put a plate on it,and set it aside for a while.If your tofu crumbles,try to drain it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
We're not real vegetarians over here, so we had a little texture aversion to straight tofu. It was good, though, overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States