Barbecue Tofu Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I'm amazed! I've been doing this recipe since my college days! Don't cut it too thin - you'll end up with "potatoe chip" consistency. Shake on some garlic powder as you add the onions. After it absorbes the sauce, I usually flash grill it on a very hot grill until the sauce has marks on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Great! It is quick, easy and full of flavour. Make sure to cut the slices thin. I like this on whole wheat buns with tomato slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
I thought this was pretty tasty. My husband didn't care for it as much but I think I made his slice too thick. He said it was the consistency of scrambled eggs. I'll definately try it again with thinner slices of tofu. Mine were about twice the size recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is great! I added mexican-style shredded cheese to mine which made it taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I didn't like this at all. I'm really disappointed since so many reviews thought it was great. Probably best if you use a bar-be-que sauce you REALLY like. I think less BBQ sauce would be good, too. It was a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I've been making this for over two years and it's a hit every time. It's quick and easy to make... great for a weeknight dinner. I've used extra firm water packed tofu, but if your market sells Nigari tofu, try it because the texture is more firm. Also, these sandwiches are great with baked sweet potato fries on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This is a family favorite! We love it on Texas Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Very good! I used tofu that I had frozen and then defrosted, and instead of cutting into strips, I crumbled it up. The onions add good flavor with the barbecue sauce, and this is very quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
When it comes to tofu, I usually stir fry it with veggies, or bread it and serve it with a tomato sauce and spaghetti. This was a nice change of pace...I never thought to put tofu in a hamburger bun!! I used whole wheat hamburger buns and served it with a green salad, making for a super healthy dinner!! I also used honey BBQ sauce, which was super yummy with the combo of the onions. I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I really liked this recipe! I cut my slices to a half inch, so it had to cook a little longer. It was so good, I'm having it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States