Barbecue Tofu Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I have never had a BBQ sandwich before and this was wonderful! Make sure you use a LARGE pan, it took quite a while in my medium sized one. Also I would start with 1 cup of BBQ sauce and add extra as needed. I only got 4 sandwiches out of this, and most people would eat two as a meal so I think the 6 sevings is way off. I loved the way this turned out, also it was easily reheated in the microwave, just keep the tofu pieces in the fridge and heat them up for 30 seconds, pile them on your bun and you are ready to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I changed the recipe to make it a bit healthier (that's the reason for eating tofu, right?) by reducing the oil to only 1 tsp, using about 1/4 cup of barbecue sauce, and serving it with tomato slices on a whole wheat bun. It was pretty good, I'll probably make it again. I prepared the tofu by slicing it and browning it in the toaster oven first - the texture is much "meatier" and less watery that way. Nice recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Usually , I make my burger with seasonings, but I needed a change. I read the reviews and, liked what I read, so I tried it. I cut it exactly how it said to, not too thick or thin. I drained the tofu between paper towels after I sliced it, to get it crisper. I left out the onion and cut down on the BBQ sauce, but I loved it. I also tried one adding swiss flavored veggie slices, lettuce, tomato and veggie bacon. Now you've got a Vegan Bacon Swiss Cheese Burger. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
These were excellent. I used tofu that had been frozen for several days; after dethawing and removing the leftover water, the texture was pleasantly thick and chewy. My husband and I can't wait to have them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
It's not bad--a great way to cook tofu, but I might try marinating it in the sauce for a few hours, first. Otherwise, the sauce was just overpowering...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAGANANGEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This one was delicious. It rather reminded me of a dish called Smothered Chicken from a restaurant I used to work at. I used spicy flavoured tofu. I then added mushrooms and fresh garlic to the onions and soya sauce to my honey garlic barbeque sauce. Then, I piled the onion, mushroom, soya and BBQ sauce mixture on top of the tofu. To top it all off I added cheddar cheese and put the pan in the oven under the broiler until the cheese was bubbling brown. It was so perfect and was just what I was looking for. I am glad I drained the tofu and made sure to make it particularly crispy before adding the other ingredients. The tofu turned out to be a perfect consistency and I did not even notice it was not a real burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dustin Grof
Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
Hey, this was pretty darn good for tofu! I was skeptical, but when I was eating it, I couldn't tell it was tofu. All I could taste was the onions, sauce, and something chewy. I did freeze, and then thaw, the tofu, before squeezing it out and proceeding w/ the recipe. I cooked the onions while I was futzing with the tofu to speed things up. Definitely let it simmer for 10 minutes -- that lets the tofu soak up the sauce's flavors. Good recipe for a first-time tofu eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This was great! I am new to trying the vegetarian thing, so it was nice to have something in a familiar format. My husband and I did agree that there seemed to be a bit too much barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
i thought this recipe was good. i added mushrooms because i'm crazy for it, but other people that tried it thought it went well together also, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vlady04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Really delicious! We had this on toasted buns with shredded cheese on top. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States