Barbecue Tofu Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was really good! I followed a similar recipe on allrecipes - "Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices." I used it because I thought egg and breading the tofu slices would make it crispier. I thinly sliced the tofu into about 8 or 8 slices and froze it in a single layer. I put it into the oil without even thawing it out...I will not make it on the stove top again though - I had to babysit the tofu slices as I was scared they would burn - but i wanted to keep them in the pan long enough for them to get crispy. - Next time I will put them in the oven and then broil them. I place 2 slices on a hotdog bun - as they were perfect for that shape!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Yummy....I love tofu and this was great. The only change was I froze the tofu for an hour befor frying and used 2 onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I like this, but it seems a bit difficult for me to make without burning some of the tofu or onions or bottom of the pan. Also, I wish I could figure out a way to get the tofu firmer or crispier, it just seems so squishy. I did use extra firm the last time I made this, but it still was a bit spongy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Wow, these are just awesome!!! I cannot wait to make these again! Next time I make them though, I will put two pieces of tofu on each bun and add more onions. I cooked the tofu with just a little oil and waited til the tofu was nice and crispy - all the edges were crunchy! Soooo yummy!!! What a great and SUPER EASY sandwich to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I like the simplicity of this, however there isn't anything special about putting bbq sauce on tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is the first tofu recipe I've tried and it turned out pretty good. I also put some Mrs. Dash on the "burger" before I put the barbeque sauce on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbjork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This recipe was tasty but seemed to be lacking something. I'll do it again but perhaps differently next time. **EDIT: Remade this last night but cut the tofu into about 1/4 inch cubes, added them to a veggie broth and heated for a few minutes. Then put them into a pan with hot oil. Did the cooking the same, but added a little of the veggie broth to help stretch the bbq sauce. Then served it on bread open faced. My girlfriend didnt like it so much last time but this time she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was my first attempt at cooking tofu and it turned out pretty well. I think I cut the tofu wrong to begin with because I ended up having to fry lots of little pieces. Next time I'll slice it so I have the biggest surface area cut. Overall it was pretty easy. I followed another reviewers suggestion to add worsterschire sauce and garlic salt to the tofu before cooking. I served it on Kaiser rolls with cheddar cheese, tomato, and lettuce. A whole block of tofu ended up making 3-4 sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I'm not a big fan of tofu but this was pretty good. It was really messy. My husband, a recent convert to vegetarianism loved it. That's why I giv it four stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Delicious! I didn't change the recipe at all and will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States