Barbecue Tofu Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
So good! This was only the second time I tried making tofu; the first was a fail and I was reluctant to try another recipe. I joined weight watchers and was looking for healthier meal choices and ran across this recipe. Let me tell you, it was delicious! I followed the directions with the exception of seasoning; I seasons the tofu with Cavenders seasoning. I also used only one half of a whole grain bun. It was filling and only 4 WW points. My 9 year old son also enjoyed it, although no one else in my family would touch it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
These were very good. I used a hickory smoke flavoured barbecue sauce, and did two things differently that, in my opinion, made the dish better. First, I sautéed the onion in the oil before I cooked the tofu, which I then cooked in the same, onion infused oil. Second, I dredged to tofu in cornstarch seasoned with salt and pepper before sautéing. This gives the tofu a light, crispy coating. Thanks for the great idea and recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made adjustments based on feedback from other members and I'm glad I did! I used 1 tablespoon of olive oil and seasoned the tofu before adding it to the skillet. With juicy tomatoes, caramelized onions, some spinach, and a splash of sauce on the sandwich (I only used 2 Tbsp of BBQ sauce when cooking with the tofu) and it was finger licking good! YUM! I can't wait to enjoy the leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Really good,super easy! Next time I might add some peppers or spinach to beef it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
this is the first time I've ever made ANYTHING and was successful. boy, was this yummy. it tastes like vegetables with a crispy BBQ piece of heaven love it (I'm a picky eater too) and its quite filling :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I made this for my vegetarian husband because we are sick of eating the same food and it was amazing!! The only thing I did different was add green peppers. I will be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
im new at tofu, but I drained it well used my fav bbq sauce and they were a nice alturnative to meat.I served them on a roll with coleslaw tasty.I am thinking next time i might add some sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These were delicious-my meat eating family loved them!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was very good! I'm not a vegetarian but love finding new ways to cook tofu. thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsF412

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I followed some of the suggestions and used paper towels and a plate to get some of the excess water off. I then put the tofu in the oven on 350 for about 20 minutes. After that I put it in the skillet with a little bit of mild olive oil to get them a nice golden brown. I topped my sandwich with some homeade "light" creamy coleslaw and gouda cheese. My husband ate 2 sandwiches.....so yummy. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States