Barbecue Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I cut my frozen rack of ribs in half and threw it in a huge pot of water, brought it to a boil and let it boil for one hour exactly. I made the BBQ sauce without changing one ingredient. I used Bacardi rum and two teaspoons of minced garlic (I'm too lazy to crush cloves). When the ribs were done I put them in a big Zip-lock bag and poared all the BBQ sauce over it and put it in the refrigerator over night. I took the ribs out of the BBQ marinate and grilled them. I poared the left over marinate in small pan and simmered it while the ribs were cooking. When I served the ribs I covered them with the steaming hot BBQ marinate. My wife did not stop raving about how they were the best ribs she had ever eaten. Better then any restaurant! They are sweat so my two, very finicky daughters loved them too. This recipe is a keeper and will be in our family rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
655 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Some reviews said the ribs were tough so to experiment I boiled half of the ribs and baked the other half. Both were tender but the boiled more so. I had 8 people for dinner and it was unanimous they are much better boiled than baked. Much more tender and did not lose flavor. The sauce is absolutely amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
OH MY!!!! Excellent recipe!!!........I wanted to point out that CHILE sauce is MUCH different than CHILI sauce. For those who comment that this is too sweet, I am guessing you bought CHILI sauce. The correct sauce to use is CHILEEEEEE (remember the "E"). You will find it in the "Mexican Food" area of your grocery store. I was able to choose from mild or hot. I chose "mild" because my kids and their taste.......I followed the recipe exactly for the sauce except I doubled it! It is perfectly sweet/salty/spicy, better than my other homemade BBQ sauce by FAR!.......I boiled the ribs from frozen for an hour. I poured liquid smoke, kosher salt and favorite spices in the boil water to give the meat an infused flavor.......After the boil, I removed ribs from water and saturated them with the sauce to marinate for a few hours.......Then, I baked for an hour at 350 degrees finishing with 5 minutes under the broiler. UNBELIEVABLY TENDER! Thank you for such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I had to comment on some of the reviews because everyone finds a great recipe I must say I started making these by boiling and they are awesome the important thing to remember for tender ribs whatever method is ..low (the temp.) and slow (cook time). I bring ribs to a boil and immediately bring down to low simmer almost 2 hours and they literally almost fall off bone- I then marinate with favorite sauce overnite and grill 20-30 minutes to get grilled on sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I've been using this recipe for years and after reading recent reviews, decided to boil the ribs until very tender, then finish in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes, basting every 5 minutes. I find this to be the easiest method (the double foil method takes time, folks!), and boiling washes off significant amounts of fat. Tender ribs are guaranteed! Hearty thanks to the submitter. This is one of my favorite recipes on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I have made this several times and they are very good ribs! I never boil ribs! BOILED meat good?, is this a joke? All the flavor of the ribs are in the water. (think stock) NO prizes have ever been given for boiled ribs! Sorry, to each their own I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Absolutely awesome! I did use the dry rub before baking the ribs. And I refrigerated overnight before making the sauce. The next morning made the marinade (minus the chili sauce--I didn't have any--so I substituted Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce and 1/8 cup RedHot sauce). I marinated in the sauce for 4 hours. It's the first time that my husband talked about ribs all day. They were so tender, juicy and the flavor was just perfect. I've made many recipes from this site. This is the first time I felt compelled to register and tell folks just how good this recipe is. Nicely done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Tried this recipe because of all the good reviews...I have never made ribs anywhere near this good and my husband says he doesn't know how they could get any better! I used the rub before baking in foil and cheated on the sauce, I actually used a mix of 2 bottled brands (1 sweet /1 spicy) and added brown sugar and the other ingredients (left out the rum and chili sauce) to taste...marinated overnight and they were fabulous. Try these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
Excellent, even my husband loved it and asked me to make my ribs with this all the time. I also did the dry rub for ribs marinade by Denise listed under BBQ recipes before I baked them and then I grilled them with this marinade after letting them marinade for an hour with this recipe. Excellent!!! Thanks, Cookiewhiz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Wonderful recipe! If you like the taste of bottled BBQ sauce, you may be a bit disappointed, because this definately has a different flavor. After reading some of the other reviews, I reduced the amount of the chili sauce to 1/4 cup, and also reduced the amount of the brown sugar to about 3/4 cup, and used baby back ribs for its tenderness. I made 4 lbs as per the recipe, and marinated half the batch for an hour and the other half in the refrigerator overnight. Both were equally delicious. While preparing the sauce, the rum made it smell a bit odd, but after baking the ribs, they smelled and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Barbecue Ribs

See how to make sweet, spicy spareribs with a wee kick of rum.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States