Barbecue Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I decided to take the advice of my fellow reviewers by boiling the ribs, rather than baking them. I did not have any rum at the time, so I used whiskey as a substitute. I used brown sugar and the grounded black pepper as instructed. The soy sauce I used was gluten free, since I'm trying to watch my glutes. I did not have any ketchup, chile sauce, or worcestershire sauce on hand, so I used some gormet spicy diana sauce instead. I used two teaspoons of garlic power, since I had no cloves. Dijon mustard seemed like a reasonable substitute for dry mustard. The outcome didn't smell that great, so I poured in a cup of maple syrup. Threw them into a few plastic bags in the refrigerator over night. The next day, oh my lord were those ribs amazing!! Great recipe! I'd recommend it to anyone looking for great meal at a family and friend BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Just terrific and juicy. Served it at my Christmas party and had no leftovers, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Delicious and super tender. The only thing I changed was to halve the chili sauce because I was serving it to my kids, but I think otherwise the extra heat would be great too. Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I boiled for one hour instead of baking and substituted 1/2 cup OJ and 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar for the chile sauce on the marinade, as that is what was handy. Fabulous!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I squeezed lemon and lime on the pork ribs, added a good guzzle of rum, covered in fresh chopped garlic and ginger, and rubbed with a mixture of cinnamon, chili powder, fresh ground cumin, smokey paprika, salt, pepper, and a few red chili peppers. I wrapped the ribs in foil, let them marinate for a few hours and then baked for about 45 minutes at 375. Then I baked for an additional ten minutes at 475. I removed the foil, cut the long rib sections into sets of around four ribs, and spread on the BBQ sauce mixture as described in the recipe. I then put on a well heated grill for around nine minutes meat side down, turned over and did for another six minutes after sprinkling on more sauce. Careful the fire doesn't blacken them too much. Delicious and tender with really nice undertones. Only thing I would do differently is marinate overnight to get even more depth of flavour. But they were pretty darn tasty...My wife said the best she'd ever had but, you know, she might be biased...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
What a fantastic recipe! I live in Australia and smokers aren't common so I was searching for a recipe that I could do in the oven then finish off on the BBQ to get that beautiful smokey flavour. The only thing I did different was to use half the marinade to marinade the ribs before cooking them, I felt that it would infuse the ribs with more flavour while slow cooking them. Then I used the remaining half when I was grilling them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Great, easy ribs! I didn't have the chile sauce so I used 1 tsp. chipotle powder spice for the heat. Used dark rum. Making them again today, they are SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
These were AMAZING ribs. My husband and kids loved them and they are the pickiest eaters around! I didn't use Chile sauce because I couldn't find it in my grocery store so I just used some Crystal hot sauce and regular BBQ sauce in it's place as another reviewer suggested. And I boiled the ribs instead of baking them. Still came out great!! These will be a great addition to our grill menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul & Dot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
My ribs just weren't that tender even though I followed recipe exactly....I guess next time I will cook them at a lower heat for longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This sauce is craaaaaaaaaaaaaazy good! And that comes from a KC Masterpiece kook aid drinker. This sauce kills all the rest!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Ball

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsville, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Ribs

See how to make sweet, spicy spareribs with a wee kick of rum.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States