Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
We used the slow cooker method mentioned by someone else (4 hrs in cooker, plus 1 hr with sauce) and it turned out excellent! Shredding the meat was messy but once I let it cool a bit it was much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
Absolutely fantastic!!! I cooked the meat a little different than suggested in the recipe but the sauce, I made it by the recipe. I guess I don't know how to roast meat because mine just turned out dry and did not fall apart. I made this recipe a second time for our fourth of July family reunion picnic and I cooked the meat with some beef broth and onions in my crock pot for four hours on high until the meat fell apart, then I added the sauce. I let it sit in the refrigerator overnight (this sauce tastes best when you let it sit a few days). The next morning I put it in a 350 degree oven for about an hour and all I can say is - WOW!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
We made this in the crock pot - just dumped everything in, cooked on low 7 hours; shredded and put back in for another hour. Really good. It is quite tangy, not sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
The only suggestion I have is that you double the amount of sauce for the four pounds of meat. I did and it was just right! I had 8 people for dinner. There was plenty left over and everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERBREN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Very tasty! I made this in the crockpot, adding the sauce for the last 30 minutes, but otherwise did not change any of the ingredients. This will be a great recipe to make ahead for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This recipe was great. I also cooked the chuck roast in the crock pot for about 4 1/2 hours. We made it for four people (everyone loved it) and have still had leftovers for lunch for a week straight, and I'm not tired of it yet! I top mine with a slice of pepper-jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Used 3 lbs of pot roast beef, cooked in slowcooker for approx five hours on high with cup of beef broth in the bottom. Made sauce as directed, found it to be enough for 3 lbs of beef. However I added a bit extra beef broth to increase sauce amount. Would definitly double the sauce recipe if I used more meat. used beef broth instead of water to fill up the chili sauce jar... very good! I give the sauce five stars but think a slow cooker is best for meat that is easy to shred. I think I will use this on my pulled pork as well, can't wait to see what the leftovers taste like tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
I've made this several times now and the only improvement I'd recommend is: double the sauce!! Even with a 2.5 to 3-pound roast, the final result was much drier than I was expecting when I went "by the book.". But making twice as much sauce made it perfect. This is extra good on toasted jalapeno-cheddar bread from the bread machine. Thanks Vicki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Throw away those jars of BBQ sauce. This was wonderful bbq. It was unique and very flavorful. I had my doubts as I was preparing it. This recipe fooled me and came out perfectly. I had to cook my roast about 30 minutes longer than the recipe called for. This is definately a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
This is what barbecue is supposed to be! Not too much tomato sauce, not too much vinegar. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States