Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was such a nice change from using bottled BBQ sauce. I tend to make my own dressings etc, so I just purchased Ketchup for the recipe rather than chili sauce. Compare the ingredients, too similar for the price difference. I agree with other reviews, you need to double sauce. I cooked 8 lbs of eye of round roasts for several hours, less fatty meat and produced a lot of shredded meat for a large 4th of July celebration. I only made 1 1/2 times the sauce for that much meat. It seemed when i was cooking the sauce, it would be enough, however the shredded meat will asborb a lot of liquid. It had a wonderful flavor but most definately, double the sauce called for according to the size of roast you are cooking. Nice change from the usual thick sticky bottled sauces. Everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
My family loved this recipe. Even my wife who is not a big bbq sandwich fan, had two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sallisaw, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This recipe is GREAT! The only changes I made were using only 2lbs of the roast beef and I didn't use the cayenne pepper bc I didn't want it to be too spicy for my toddlers to eat. I will cook this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This is good barbecue as is, but to make it better, I did what others had suggested and used some broth from cooking the roast (I did mine in a crockpot on high for about 4-1/2 hours to 5 hours.) instead of the water. I also added some diced pickled jalepenos. My husband said it needed more barbecue taste so I added about a fourth cup of Bulls Eye barbecue sauce. After doctoring it up a bit it was 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This was really fabulous, everyone including picky eaters loved it!I cooked the roast in a crock pot from frozen on high for approx. 5 hours and then lowered to the low setting while I prepared the sauce. I was forced to change some ingredients since I live in the country and can't run to the store quickly, I used a combo of tomato ketchup and cocktail sauce to replace the chili sauce, but they interchange well and all in all I don't think this changed the recipe by very much. Since the cocktail sauce has horseradish in it I omitted the cayenne pepper. Also, I couldn't bear to have all that juice from the roast go to waste so instead of water I used the broth. Thank you for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I used one roast that was about 2.5-3lbs and the sauce was just enough. I cooked the roast in the crock pot all day with beef bouillon, onion and garlic powders which gave the meat some flavor. Then I took it out and shredded it and then made the sauce. I also used a ladle of the broth from the meat in the sauce. And I did add some Jack Daniels original BBQ sauce as well to increase the barbecue flavor and it was so good. My husband and I couldn't eat enough of it. It was challenging to leave some for dinner the next night! I will make this very often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I prepare two chuck roasts, about 3 lbs each to yield the 4 lbs of meat needed after removing fat. I also add a couple of ladles of the meat drippings which adds more flavor. To give it a little smoky flavor I squirt in a couple of tablespoonsful of Sweet Baby Ray's barbecue sauce, Hickory flavor. Served with a nice cold pasta salad and you have a nice picnic supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I doubled the recipe for the sauce as recommended and had just enough. I made this for a huge family picnic and everyone raved about it. I also used the meat juices in the chili sauce bottle in place of water to give it a bit more flavor. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
My husband gave this recipe 5 stars, agreeing that it is better the day after it's made. I did think that doubling the recipe was a bit too much sauce for my 4 pounds of meat, maybe would use one and a half times the amount of sauce due to the meat juices that cooked out in the slow cooker. Am preparing my second batch this month to take to a party tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Used 3 lbs of pot roast beef, cooked in slowcooker for approx five hours on high with cup of beef broth in the bottom. Made sauce as directed, found it to be enough for 3 lbs of beef. However I added a bit extra beef broth to increase sauce amount. Would definitly double the sauce recipe if I used more meat. used beef broth instead of water to fill up the chili sauce jar... very good! I give the sauce five stars but think a slow cooker is best for meat that is easy to shred. I think I will use this on my pulled pork as well, can't wait to see what the leftovers taste like tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States