Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I didn't like the sauce very much, way too tangy for my taste. I also prefer my barbeques a little smokier and with thicker sauce. I ended up adding a bottle of store-bought barbeque sauce to make it more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cromwell, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
I was not happy with the flavor I think next time I will just add BQ sauce. It had a strange flavor...and husband ask me not to make this one again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I used everything except the cayenne pepper and it turned out WONDERFUL!!! I added a little bit of water to the bottom of the roasting pan & had to cook it longer then recommended (4 1/2 hrs) but I think it was because I didn't have a lid to my roasting pan and had to cover it with tin foil and I didn't have the edges completely sealed (after 3 1/2 hrs I realized this and after making sure edges were secured, it was done in about an hour.) Will definetely make this again, shredded meat would be good without the sauce to make tacos,enchiladas, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I could tell from the ingredients that this would be an excellent sandwich, so I quadrupled the recipe. The meat was so tender and the taste of the sauce permiated the shredded beef. Freezing small amounts in freezer bags will make for evening meals without the mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This recipe was OK. The sauce was a little too tamatoy for me and I found it rather bland. I do think a little hot sauce and less chile sauce would do the trick. I also used a crockpot for convience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This was good, but a little different than what I was expecting. I wouldn't really call it BBQ. The sauce is good, very tangy, but you really do need to double it for the amount of meat. I made it with a pork roast and it tasted like pork with a little sauce. Good, but very mild and simple. I'll make this again with more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This recipe is very good! I have been trying for a long time to find a good barbecue recipe. I think I have finally found it! Sherry Wells
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
I've made this several times now and the only improvement I'd recommend is: double the sauce!! Even with a 2.5 to 3-pound roast, the final result was much drier than I was expecting when I went "by the book.". But making twice as much sauce made it perfect. This is extra good on toasted jalapeno-cheddar bread from the bread machine. Thanks Vicki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
This was very good. I used the sauce w/ shredded chicken instead of beef, would also be good with pork. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This sauce is wonderful, very tangy! I added a little more salt to balance the brown sugar taste, but otherwise it was perfect. I scaled the recipe to serve four and the measurement for the chili sauce came out to be 1/4 pound, so I figured that must mean about four ounces; I didn't really know how much chili sauce or water to add, but it came out good anyway. Also, I sauteed the garlic with the onions first instead of adding it raw to the sauce. Very good sauce; I used the chuck roast for my boyfriend, but I think I could use it on a meat substitute for a sloppy Joe type sandwich for me! Thanks for sharing your family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States