Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Very tasty but very HOT! Too hot for my taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa T.
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe as is because of the high rating and i wish I had read the comments first. I don't agree with changing the recipe then giving it 4-5 stars. Rate the recipe as is and recommend your changes in the comments. The chuck roast is a fatty cut, and tearing it apart with two forks is not easy after 2 hours in the oven. It was very chewy and full of fat which we had to tear out with our fingers or spit back onto the plate. The sauce was ok tasting but never thickened up even though I stirred it for more than a half hour. The recipe gives no idea how long it should take to thicken, and since it didn't have the usual flour or cornstarch as thickener I didn't know how long it should take. My boyfriend and I managed to eat a sandwich from this but we both said we wouldn't eat leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Super easy. Changes; After browning use a slow cooker to cook and keep warm for parties. Go half and half with beef and pork shoulder. Use mini Kings Hawaiian Sweet Rolls. Top with favorite cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WetzelHillman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jamul, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I've been using this recipe for years & my hubby & family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgoodgirlr33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I used the slow cooker method and easy!! It's a nice change from adding Baby Ray's sauce in the shredded beef all the time. I cooked the meat for 12 hours with the garlic and onion and then shredded the beef and put all the rest of the ingredients in and YUM! I've made this recipe several time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pound, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coleman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Tweeked it alittle, but over all this recipe RoCkS! I'm asked to make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Yummy! I'm making this recipe for a bbq and so I had to test it out first. It was perfect not too tomatoy or bbq sauce tasting. The sause had a really great complexity to it that everyone will be impressed with. It's not the old bbq saucy sandwich. This is so much better. I will definitely double the sauce next go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Great recipe. I had about 4 pounds of chuck roast, and there was no way that this made 16 servings- but it was still delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, making the roast in the oven, but I added beef broth and chopped onion to the pan while roasting. Two hours wasn't quite long enough to make this tender, so I added another 45 minutes to the cooking time. I made the sauce exactly, but in the end, I used my immersion blender to make it smooth (bits of onion and garlic would not go over well with some of my family members). I cooked and shredded the beef ahead of time, and then added it to my slow cooker. I poured the sauce over all, and refrigerated overnight. The next day, I reheated on low. It was perfect. It was also the perfect amount of sauce. Doubling it would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
A great way to use a roast. My husband loved them..used ciabatta buns, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Love this recipe, so easy - but make it SPICY! I agree to double the recipe for the sauce - eliminate the butter (not necessary) - for double recipe use 12oz chili sauce and 12oz Crystal hot sauce. Serve over baked potato or rice. Also just dump all ingredients in a pot and simmer until meat shreds easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States