Barbecue Beef Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
We really liked this recipe. I paid attention to the other reviews and added my own twist to it. After filling the muffin cups with dough, I baked the dough by itself for 2 minutes before adding the beef filling. This made sure the entire bottom was firm and cooked thru. I added chopped onion, green pepper, garlic, crushed red pepper, worstechire sauce, prepared mustard, honey, and hot sauce. I mixed the cheese in to the beef mix. This made it turn out kind of like a sloppy joe. It tasted great! Also, I used butter crescent rolls, and the cup was perfect! This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
My husband and I did not care for this. Maybe it was the type of biscuits we used (grands flakey buttermilk). BUT This works great with scrambled eggs, sausage pieces and bits of bacon inside them smothered with white gravy and topped with cheese. It's a great new way to biscuits and gravy! We call our creation "breakfast in a biscuit". :) I give that one 5 *'s!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
We had these for dinner tonight and they were really good! They were similar to another recipe I had tried before but these were much better! I used Grands® reduced fat biscuits and they were the perfect size for my muffin pan. I think almost any type of filling can be used for some variety. I'm planning on making this again but with a tuna salad filling instead of the ground beef and bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Easy and fun for kids to help make. My Mom gave me this recipe after she made it for my kids years ago, to their rave reviews. They loved it then, and now at 17 and 19 they still ask for it. We put 1 Tablespoon brown sugar in the meat mixture. To make them a little more meaty use a full lb. ground beef. If the mixture seems dry I often add more BBQ, we always use regular refrigerated flaky biscuits, fresh onions and maybe a little more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I brown 1lb ground beef with 2 diced onions , and add a 16 oz jar of honey bbq sauce, and a can of niblet corn. I mix about 2-3 cups of shredded cheddar and or jack cheese in the meat mix before filling cups. I make 16 "cups" from 8 jumbo flaky biscuits. My kids call them barbeque cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I use bread instead of dough and it has a better flavor. Cut the crusts off and butter the side of the bread that is going into the cups. I also use Tomato soup and 1/2 cup of ketchup instead of BBQ sause. The kids love them and they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
My kids & all their friends love this. This is SOooo versatile, I made mine with Bold Manwich. You can do all kinds of creations with this from doing Eggs & sausage to anything. Be creative. You'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! The filling is so good, but I did a few things differently with the recipe. First, I did not use store bought biscuits. I made homemade ones using the Never Fail Biscuits recipe, also found on this site. I diced up fresh onions and sauted them with the beef instead of the dried onion. Also, when the meat was simmering with the bbq sauce, I grated some cheese into the mixture. I couldn't wait to taste these as they smelled so yummy all through the cooking process. I still put grated cheese over them even though I added a little into the beef filling. As I stated before, they were great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This is a good, easy recipe. However, make sure you have a breath mint for afterwards...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This recipe has been in my family for years and is a favorite! The key is to use basic homestyle biscuits to ensure they cook through. Do not use the large Grands biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Barbecue Beef for Sandwiches

See how to make spicy, saucy, shredded barbecued beef.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States