Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
when you beat the eggwhites stiff and fold them into the rest of the batter, they will become very fluffy. also try to add some vanilla or rum. a pinch of salt. i am german and i grew up eating them with applesauce, jam, nutella or fresh fruits and cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Placanico

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Babenhausen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Three Rivers, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
use hazelnut half and half ..... MMMMMM Better flavor than vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
my kids go through 3-4 batches of these and they are so fast and easy to make that it's never an issue! Such a great find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This recipe is soooo good!! A hint though: make sure you use a crepe pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosalie Cullen (I wish!)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe is okay, but I've had better German pancakes. Also, I had to add about three extra tablespoons of flour to the batter. They were practically impossible to flip without the extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I thought it was good. I was surprised that it came out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These are almost exactly what my German grandma used to make for us. We would eat them with butter, powdered sugar and lemon juice. It takes me back to a little girl, spending the weekend at my grandma's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy Blake Farris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Molalla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
My mother (who is German) always made these pancakes on the weekend for us. They are wonderful to have with preserves - though my brother loved to have his with chocolate syrup. This is exactly the same recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
My German grandmother used to make me these on the weekends for dinner. The flavor of this recipe was great! The smaller pan you use to cook these, the better. They were extremely difficult to flip! I added a little extra flour to make them thicker, which made them easier to flip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mahomet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This one is a keeper! I just need practice to get them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States