Barbarella's German Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was too difficult for me. I ended up just burning the batter on the pan and I couldnt flip it. Probably is good for experienced cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
The flavor of these pancakes is really great, but I think I should have let the batter sit for about 30 minutes before making them. The latter cakes had a better texture than the first ones. If you make these, make sure to use medium to medium-low heat and wait until the surface is no longer shiny before attempting to flip them. Also, the thinnest spatula you can find is a must! Finally, wiping the pan after every pancake comes out helps me out a lot, so you don't get uneven cooking from leftover bits of butter/oil/cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUNTJOMIANDC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
My German grandmother used to make these for me when I was little. They are definitely different from traditional American pancakes -- nice, thin, and light. Same recipe as Oma's! Thanks you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
The flavor of the pancakes were delicious just like the ones my Oma made for me when I was a kid. I would have to agree with some of the other reviews on the servings. This recipe only made 5 pancakes (although they were large the light texture was hardly enough for 4 servings). I will double the batch the next time I make them. I also added a dash of vanilla & cinnamon to the batter before cooking and filled them with chocalate Nutella (from a jar) and fresh strawberries and bananas. This is a perfect dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This was very good and reminded me of my mother standing over the stove cooking me crepes when I was a child. I loved them and she couldn't cook them fast enough! I used the orange sauce for crepes, which I obtained from this site to pour over them. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Delicious! My hubby & oldest girl says, "wow, those are good, can I have more?" So I had to make another batch :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was a great recipe. I have a great deal of experience flipping pancakes (was a breakfast chef for quite some time), so I had no problems with the cooking process. I was worried the batter was too runny but tried it anyway, they came out perfect. I'd never had german pancakes till now but I definitely will again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
These were a real treat with butter, sugar, and cinnamon rolled inside. The texture and taste were just like my German grandmother used to make... I made them on a griddle and it took me a couple of tries to get the shape right - but they sure were easy to turn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I had made these pancakes years ago, but lost the recipe. I tried others that were baked in the oven, but we prefer this one. Thanks! I usually serve with apple slices that I cook with a little butter, cinnamon and sugar. Place the warm apples on half of the pancake and cover with the other half. Sprinkle with confectioners sugar. Yum! Tonight I had more pancakes than apples, so I made rhubarb sauce with rhubarb from our garden. I used that in place of the apples and we liked it even better. The sweet pancake and tart rhubarb was a real taste treat! You must try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States